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Unintentional injuries
cause about 60 deaths
among Yolo County
residents each year.

Unintentional injuries are a significant cause of Prevent poisoning by using medications as directed, Most importantly,

emergency room visits, hospitalizations and deaths in Yolo keep all medications and cleaning products out of reach of children.

County. These injuries are often preventable and are costly in
terms of medical bills and human suffering. The most common
causes of unintentional injuries in Yolo County are falls, motor
vehicle accidents, and accidental drug overdoses (both
prescription and non-prescription).”® ** Fallvetes To page 46}

Yolo County

Motor vehicle occupant
As demonstrated by the kayaker above, appropriate safety Pedestrian

devices—helmets, flotation devices, child car seats, seat belts— Bicyclist
when used correctly, can prevent injury and save lives. Enjoy life, Motorcyclist
but be safe and make sure those with you stay safe.

Disaster Education & Awareness Month ¢ UV Safety Month
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Motor Vehicle Accidents (MVA) Lead Poisoning’ Water Safety
Compliance with seat belt laws and child car seat laws, crackdowns on drunk driving, and advances in  From January of 2007 Drowning is a leading cause of injury-
automobile safety technology, are credited with notable declines in MVA deaths and injuries, through July of 2009, related death for children under 6 years
especially among children. Gas prices and the economy may also play a role the recent decrease in 108 Yolo County of age in the U.S."> About 70 children
MVA deaths simply because Americans are logging fewer miles on the road.* However, in Yolo children had elevated under age 6 drown in California each
County and the U.S., car crashes remain the leading cause of death for children and young adults.***®*  lead levels and 6 cases  year.”® Between 2000 and 2007, 3 Yolo

Alcohol-related car crashes account for almost one third (32%) of all car crashes in the U.S.** of lead poisoning
occurred. Even low
levels of lead can cause
harm to a child's brain

In California, all babies and young children must ride in the back seat, properly buckled up, in a safety
seat or booster until they are at least 6 years old or weigh 60 pounds.>® Nationwide, over 98% of
child safety seats are installed incorrectly. The Yolo County Health Department offers car seat safety
inspections to all Yolo County residents. Of 122 child safety seats inspected in 2009, only one was development. Lead

installed correctly! Car seats are inspected on an appointment only basis by calling (530) 666-8645.%°  can be found in paint
and imported candies.

Children should have a

Unintentional Injury Age-Adjusted Death Rate Motor Vehicle Accident Age-Adjusted Death Rate ~ lead blood screening
U.S. Goal = 17 per 100,000 or lower U.S. Goal = 8 per 100,000 or lower testat 12 and 24
e Yolo Co. 36 per 100,000 *° « Yolo Co. 12 per 100,000 *° months.
e California 35 per 100,000 *° « California 11 per 100,000 *®
* Water Safety wwuw.safekids.org and www.ndpa.org
« Fall Prevention wwuw.stopfalls.org
o California Office of Traffic Safety Www.ots.ca.gov
« California Buckle-Up Laws for Parents www.carseat.org

County children under age 6 drowned.*®

Prevent children from drowning by
ensuring adult supervision at all times
when around water and have a safety
barrier that surrounds pools and spas.
Children should always wear approved
flotation devices when swimming or
boating. Adults can set a good example
for children by wearing approved
flotation devices, especially in rivers and
lakes, and by avoiding alcohol when
swimming.
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