Many thanks for backing Measure R

Mark Spencer, Eileen Samitz, Pam Nieberg, Ken Wagstaff June 13th, 2010

Davis

By overwhelmingly renewing Measure J last Tuesday, Davis citizens have ensured that for another 10 years they will continue to have the final say on when, how much and where the city grows. As one of several important planning innovations pioneered by Davis residents, a renewed Measure J will continue to reinforce the city's ongoing efforts to achieve a more thoughtful and sustainable ag-urban partnership.

Ten years ago, when the four of us first came together to pass Measure J, we were able to forge a broad citywide coalition in the face of significant developer opposition. While the opposition was more muted this time, our coalition was even more broad and deep.

We could not have achieved the community consensus we did on Tuesday without the help of many, many friends and neighbors. We would especially like to thank the following for giving their time and energies to the campaign: Dennis Dingemans and Michelle Rasmussen for delivering so many lawn signs; Carolyn Kopper, Rena Nayyar, Rodney Robinson, Jim Leonard and Carolyn Hinshaw on mailings; Ellen Pontac and Shelly Bailes for making our buttons; Dennis Dingemans, David McGlocklin, Rena Nayyar, Jim Watson, Liz Reay, Ellen Pontac, Shelly Bailes, Sally Parker, Catherine and Stephen Daubert, Matt Williams, Rebecca Wu and Holly Bishop for tabling; Bill Kopper, Steve Ingram, Elaine Roberts Musser, Rick Grosberg, Nora Oldwin and Desmond Jolly for joining us on our ballot argument and rebuttal; Steve Zeck for assisting us in designing and posting our web page; Rod McDonald, David McGlocklin, Lenny Oldwin, David Suder, Rena Nayyar, Jim Watson, Ruben Arevalo, Stan Forbes, Pam Sparks, Phil King, Nancy and Don Price, Jim Leonard, Erin Gardiner, Dapo Okupe, Carolyn Kopper, Matt Williams, Rob Pexton, Sean Adams, and Gerald Dickinson for waving all those signs on Election Day; and Jim and Donna Provenza for graciously hosting our Election Night party.

We also would like to acknowledge the support of all those who ran for the council this time; current City Council members; past council members, in particular Stan Forbes who was on the council that placed Measure J on the ballot in 2000 — and, of course, the late Julie Partansky. She inspired us then, and we thought of her often during this campaign.

Finally, we would like to thank our many supporters and the many generous Davis citizens who financially contributed to make the Yes on Measure R campaign possible.

Mark Spencer, Eileen Samitz, Pam Nieberg and Ken Wagstaff

Davis