

Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission 625 Court Street, Suite 203, Woodland, CA 95695 lafco@yolocounty.org (email) www.yololafco.org (web) (530) 666-8048 (office)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 1, 2010

Contact: Elisa Carvalho, Assistant Executive Officer (530) 666-8048 • lafco@yolocounty.org

Stephen Souza Reelected to CALAFCO Board

(Yolo County, CA) - Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) member, and City of Davis Councilman, Stephen Souza was reelected to the California LAFCO Association (CALAFCO) Board of Directors on October 7, 2010. Commissioner Souza was elected to the Board's central region, one of four newly created CALAFCO regional caucuses. Mr. Souza defeated two other central region city member candidates at the CALAFCO annual conference to win the one-year term.

Yolo LAFCO unanimously nominated Mr. Souza for the central region city member seat on the CALAFCO Board at its July meeting. Councilman Souza was appointed to the Yolo LAFCO Commission as an alternate city member in May 2006 and as a regular city member in May 2008 by the City Selection Committee.

Mr. Souza was elected to the Davis City Council in 2004 and reelected to his second term in 2008. He is the Vice Chair of both the Yolo Natural Heritage Program and the Davis Woodland Water Supply Joint Project Authority. He sits on the Lower Putah Creek Coordinating Committee and the Water Resources Association of Yolo County.

"It has been my pleasure to serve on the CALAFCO Board of Directors" said Stephen Souza. "I look forward to the opportunity to continue to serve our LAFCO members as a central region board representative in a proactive and thoughtful way".

###

CommissionERS * Public Member Olin Woods, Chair * * County Member Matt Rexroad, Vice Chair * * City Members Stephen Souza, Skip Davies * County Member Helen M. Thomson * ALTERNATE COMMISSIONERS * Public Member Robert Ramming * City Member Bill Kristoff * County Member Jim Provenza * STAFF * Executive Officer Elizabeth Castro Kemper * Assistant Executive Officer Elisa Carvalho * * Commission Clerk Terri Tuck * Commission Counsel Robyn Truitt Drivon *