Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission 625 Court Street, Suite 203, Woodland, CA 95695 lafco@yolocounty.org (email) www.yololafco.org (web) (530) 666-8048 (office)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 3, 2010

Contact: Elisa Carvalho, Assistant Executive Officer (530) 666-8048 • lafco@yolocounty.org

Helen Thomson Wins CALAFCO Achievement Award

(Yolo County, CA) - Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) member, and County Supervisor, Helen Thomson won the California Association of LAFCOs (CALAFCO) "Mike Gotch Courage and Innovation in Local Government" Achievement Award last month at the CALAFCO Annual Conference. Commissioner Thomson was recognized for her lasting contributions to the goals and principals of LAFCO at the state, regional, and local level. Most notable was her involvement in the development of important and innovative agricultural initiatives including the Yolo LAFCO Agricultural Conservation Policy and the Land Evaluation and Site Assessment (LESA) Model. The Conservation Policy established standards and expectations for development and agricultural mitigation. The LESA Model provided a way to quantify and evaluate the impact of the conversion of agricultural land to urban uses.

Yolo LAFCO unanimously nominated Commissioner Thomson for the CALAFCO Achievement Award at its July meeting. Ms. Thomson has served on the Yolo LAFCO Commission as a County member for a total of 16 years from 1987 to 1996 and 2003 to present. She will retire in December.

Commissioner Thomson's service on Yolo LAFCO nearly parallels her service on the Board of Supervisors where she served from 1987 to 1996 and 2002 to present. She took a six-year hiatus from her service in Yolo County after she was elected to the California State Assembly 8th District where she served three terms.

"After many years of working on mitigation issues for the loss of agricultural land, the LESA Model has proven to be a very useful tool to protect our agricultural land here in Yolo County." said LAFCO Commissioner Helen Thomson. "More than simply a rule or regulation, the policy has become a value in our county's culture; it's something that we really want to do."

###

COMMISSIONERS

* Public Member Olin Woods, Chair *

* County Member Matt Rexroad, Vice Chair *

* City Members Stephen Souza, Skip Davies * County Member Helen M. Thomson *

* ALTERNATE COMMISSIONERS

Public Member Robert Ramming * City Member Bill Kristoff * County Member Im Proven

★ Public Member Robert Ramming ★ City Member Bill Kristoff ★ County Member Jim Provenza ★ STAFF

* Executive Officer Elizabeth Castro Kemper * Assistant Executive Officer Elisa Carvalho *

* Commission Clerk Terri Tuck * Commission Counsel Robyn Truitt Drivon *