Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission 625 Court Street, Suite 203, Woodland, CA 95695 lafco@yolocounty.org (email) www.yololafco.org (web) (530) 666-8048 (office)

To: Olin Woods, Chair, and Members of the

Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission

From: Elisa Carvalho, Assistant Executive Officer

Terri Tuck, Commission Clerk

Date: May 16, 2011

Subject: Consider CALAFCO 2011 Achievement Award Nominations

Recommended Action

Consider CALAFCO 2011 Achievement Award nominations.

Reason for Recommended Action

CALAFCO will be sending the CALAFCO 2011 Achievement Awards nomination packet and information to all LAFCOs on May 20th. CALAFCO is requesting award nominations by July 20th. CALAFCO announces and presents Achievement Awards at its Annual CALAFCO Conference. The next conference will be held in Napa Valley from August 31 to September 2, 2011. The Conference is being held earlier than usual and the Awards Committee is soliciting early nominations to allow additional time to review submittals.

The condensed nomination schedule will only allow the Commission time to receive and review the award nomination packet and information at its June 27, 2011 LAFCO meeting. Currently, there are no other items scheduled for the June 27th meeting. The Chair has agreed that it would be appropriate to cancel the June meeting and solicit nominations at the current (May) meeting.

The forms and awards categories are the same as last year. The nomination categories are listed in the next section and a copy of the previous year's award categories and criteria is attached.

COMMISSIONERS

★ Public Member Olin Woods, Chair ★
 ★ County Member Matt Rexroad, Vice Chair ★
 ★ City Members Stephen Souza, Skip Davies ★ County Member Don Saylor ★
 ALTERNATE COMMISSIONERS

* Public Member Robert Ramming * City Member Bill Kristoff * County Member Jim Provenza * STAFF

* Executive Officer Elizabeth Castro Kemper * Assistant Executive Officer Elisa Carvalho *

* Commission ClerkTerri Tuck * Commission Counsel Robyn Truitt Drivon *

May 16, 2011

Background

Each year, at the annual conference, CALAFCO announces awards that recognize outstanding achievements by dedicated and committed individuals and organizations that go above and beyond in their work to advance the principles and goals of Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg (CKH) and LAFCO.

Nomination Categories:

- Outstanding CALAFCO Member
- Distinguished Service Award
- Most Effective Commission
- Outstanding Commissioner
- Outstanding LAFCO Professional
- Outstanding LAFCO Clerk
- Project of the Year
- Government Leadership Award
- Legislator of the Year
- Mike Gotch Courage and Innovation in Local Government Award

The Yolo LAFCO Commission has successfully nominated four individuals since 2005 and received one award in 2000. Yolo LAFCO Commissioner Helen Thomson received the Mike Gotch Courage and Innovation in Local Government Leadership Award in 2010. Senate Local Government Committee Chief Consultant Peter Detwiler received the Distinguished Service Award in 2008. Yolo LAFCO Executive Officer Elizabeth Castro Kemper received the Distinguished Service Award in 2005. Yolo LAFCO Public Member H. Peter Faye received the Outstanding Commissioner Award in 2001. Yolo LAFCO received the Most Effective Commission Award in 2000.

Attachment:

2010 CALAFCO Achievement Awards Categories and Criteria





CALAFCO ACHIEVEMENT AWARD CATEGORIES

CALAFCO recognizes excellence within the LAFCo community by presenting the *Achievement Awards* at the CALAFCO Annual Conference. Nominations are being accepted until 17 September in the following categories:

Outstanding CALAFCO Member

Recognizes a CALAFCO Board Member or staff person who has provided exemplary service during the past year.

Distinguished Service Award

Given to a member of the LAFCo community to recognize long-term service by an individual.

Most Effective Commission

Presented to an individual Commission to recognize innovation, streamlining, and/or initiative in implementing LAFCo programs; may also be presented to multiple Commissions for joint efforts.

Outstanding Commissioner

Presented to an individual Commissioner for extraordinary service to his or her Commission.

Outstanding LAFCo Professional Recognizes an Executive Officer, Staff Analyst, or Legal Counsel for exemplary service during the past year.

Outstanding LAFCo Clerk

Presented to a LAFCo Clerk for service above and beyond the call of duty.

Project of the Year

Recognition for a project-specific program that involved complex staff analysis, community involvement, or an outstanding solution.

Government Leadership
Award

Presented to a decision-making body at the city, county, special district, regional or state level which has furthered good government efforts in California.

Legislator of the Year

Presented to a member of the California State Senate or Assembly in recognition of leadership and valued contributions in support of LAFCo goals. Selected by CALAFCO Board.

Mike Gotch Courage and Innovation in Local Government Award

Presented to an individual who has taken extraordinary steps to improve and innovate local government. This award is named for Mike Gotch: former Assembly Member, LAFCo Executive Officer and CALAFCO Executive Director responsible for much of the foundations of LAFCo law and CALAFCO. He is remembered as a source of great inspiration for staff and legislators from throughout the state.