

Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission 625 Court Street, Suite 203, Woodland, CA 95695 lafco@yolocounty.org (email) www.yololafco.org (web) (530) 666-8048 (office)

To: Olin Woods, Chair, and Members of the Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission

- From: Christine Crawford, Executive Officer
- Date: February 27, 2012
- Subject: Adoption of LAFCO Policy Defining "Inhabited Territory" in Accordance with SB 244

Recommended Action

Consider and adopt the policy defining "Inhabited Territory" for the implementation of SB 244 as discussed below.

Background

SB 244 (Wolk) will go into effect July 1, 2012 and requires local agencies to consider providing public services to "disadvantaged unincorporated communities" (DUCs) through the LAFCo planning process and the County General Plan and Housing Element update process. More specifically, it requires that LAFCo consider these DUC's when conducting Municipal Service Reviews/Sphere of Influence (MSR/SOI) updates of any agency that provides water, sewer or fire protection services and make a written determination regarding the feasibility of providing such services to any DUC within or adjacent to its SOI. In addition, "a commission shall not approve an annexation to a city for any territory greater than 10 acres, or as determined by commission policy, where there exists a DUC that is contiguous to the areas of proposed annexation."

For LAFCo's, SB 244 defines the term "disadvantaged unincorporated community" to mean inhabited territory with 12 or more registered voters, <u>or as determined by LAFCO</u> <u>policy</u>, that constitutes all or a portion of a "disadvantaged community," which is defined in the Water Code to be "a community with an annual median household income that is

Commissioners * Public Member Olin Woods, Chair * * County Member Matt Rexroad, Vice Chair * * City Members Stephen Souza, Skip Davies * County Member Don Saylor * ALTERNATE COMMISSIONERS * Public Member Robert Ramming * City Member Bill Kristoff * County Member Jim Provenza * STAFF * Executive Officer Christine M. Crawford, AICP * * Commission Clerk Terri Tuck * Commission Counsel Robyn Truitt Drivon * less than 80 percent of the statewide annual median household income." To express this in a logic equation:

"Inhabited Territory" <u>and</u> ≤80% Statewide Median Income = DUC

Each LAFCo has discretion to adopt its own definition of an "inhabited territory". The Commission has expressed concern that the State's definition of 12 or more voters in any given project area was too broad and has discussed policy options (at its December 10, 2011 and January 23, 2012 meetings) to more appropriately define "Inhabited Territory" for Yolo County.

Policy Discussion

At its January 23, 2012 meeting, the Commission discussed policy options and directed staff to bring back a definition that listed specific unincorporated residential communities as defined in the County's 2030 General Plan so that they could be mapped for implementation purposes. The Commission also directed staff to add the County Airport community and indicated that less dense communities should not be removed from the list.

Therefore, staff has prepared the attached policy in accordance with Commission direction. The Policy would define "Inhabited Territory" for the purposes of SB 244 to include the following communities:

Binning Farms	Guinda
Capay	Knights Landing
Clarksburg	Madison
County Airport*	Monument Hills
Dunnigan	North Davis Meadows
El Macero	Patwin Road
El Rio Villa	Royal Oak*
Esparto	Rumsey*

West Kentucky West Plainfield Willow Oak Willowbank Yolo Zamora

* Communities added since the January 23, 2012 report.

Attachment

Policy for the Definition of "Inhabited Territory" for the implementation of SB 244 regarding Disadvantaged Unincorporated Communities

YOLO COUNTY LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

Policy for the Definition of "Inhabited Territory" For the Implementation of SB 244 Regarding Disadvantaged Unincorporated Communities

(Approved by Minute Order #2012-xx)

Policy: "Inhabited Territory" for the purposes of implementing SB 244 (Wolk) shall be defined as the following list of unincorporated residential communities (see County of Yolo 2030 Countywide General Plan Land Use Map Figures LU-1B through LU-1H):

Binning Farms Capay Clarksburg County Airport Dunnigan El Macero El Rio Villa Esparto Guinda Knights Landing Madison Monument Hills North Davis Meadows Patwin Road Royal Oak Rumsey West Kentucky West Plainfield Willow Oak Willowbank Yolo Zamora