

COUNTY OF YOLO

Office of the County Administrator

Sharon JensenCounty Administrator

Beth Gabor Public Information Officer 625 Court Street, Room 202 • Woodland, CA 95695 (530) 666-8150 • FAX (530) 668-4029 www.yolocounty.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 20, 2007

Contact: Beth Gabor, Public Information Officer (530) 666-8042 [w] • (530) 219-8464 [c]

Yolo Supervisor McGowan SACOG Elected Official of the Year

(Woodland, CA) – Today, the Sacramento Area Council of Governments (SACOG) honored the recipients of the 2007 SACOG Salutes Awards – a slate of eight outstanding leaders or organizations throughout the six-county SACOG region. Being recognized with this year's Bill Hughes Elected Official of the Year award is Yolo County Supervisor McGowan.

Bill Hughes was the driving force in the expansion of the SACOG Board, bringing voices from all of the region's cities and counties to the table. He was a tremendous supporter of the Blueprint project and was chair of the SACOG Board at the time of his sudden passing in 2003. The Bill Hughes Elected Office of the Year award recognizes leadership excellence by an elected official who has made a significant contribution to transportation, air quality, or land-use planning in the Sacramento region at the local, state, regional, or federal level.

Nominated by his colleague Supervisor Matt Rexroad, McGowan was referred to as the "founding father of West Sacramento." As First District Supervisor representing West Sacramento and Clarksburg, McGowan is a leading figure in the success and responsible land use planning for Yolo County, as well as the greater Sacramento region.

Mike McGowan began his career in public service at an early age, serving overseas as a U. S. Marine in Vietnam. Returning to West Sacramento to practice law, he went on to become instrumental in the incorporation efforts of the city and served as West Sacramento's first mayor. In January 1993 he began his tenure on the Yolo County Board of Supervisors and is currently serving his fourth term.

As an advocate for the preservation of agricultural lands, Supervisor McGowan has been a leader in the promotion and enhancement of open space, and the provision of a myriad of services important to the well-being of Yolo's diverse population. Due in large part to McGowan's efforts, 95% of the Yolo County today is designated as open space or for agricultural land use.

Supervisor McGowan currently serves as chair of the Delta Protection Commission, and on the Yolo County Transportation District Board of Directors since 1992. McGowan also serves as chair of the Sacramento-Yolo Port Commission, on which he has been an outspoken advocate for the role of the port as an important piece of the region's transportation and agricultural economic infrastructure. McGowan believes the port plays a vital role in the region's "goods movement" system and makes a valuable contribution in the area of alleviating traffic congestion and improving air quality.

A true supporter of SACOG's Blueprint, McGowan is notorious for looking after the interests of all residents, particularly seniors, disabled, children, and persons of limited economic means. At the same time, he has been in the forefront in supporting new directions, such as the upcoming study of streetcar service in West Sacramento and his advocacy for the use of alternative fuel buses.

"For all these reasons, accomplishments, and ardent commitment to his community of West Sacramento, Clarksburg, Yolo County, the Delta and the Sacramento regions, I was honored to nominate Supervisor Mike McGowan for this award," said Yolo County Supervisor Matt Rexroad.

McGowan joins past Yolo County SACOG Salutes Award recipients Yolo County LAFCO Chief Executive Officer Elizabeth Kemper, Yolo County Transit District Executive Director Terry Bassett, former Yolo County Supervisor Tom Stallard, and former California State Assemblywoman and current Yolo County Supervisor Helen M. Thomson.

"I am honored to join such a fine group of distinguished Yolo County leaders previously recognized by SACOG," said Yolo County Supervisor Mike McGowan. "They have been my mentors and colleagues in retaining Yolo County's commitment to preserving our agricultural heritage and ensuring sound transportation and land use planning."

Earlier this year Supervisor McGowan, along with colleague Supervisor Helen M. Thomson, was honored as one of ten recipients of this year's California State Association of Counties (CSAC) Circle of Service awards which recognizes those county officials, department directors, employees, corporate associates and other CSAC members whose service to CSAC and counties set them apart.

The Sacramento Area Council of Governments (SACOG) is an association of local governments in the six-county Sacramento Region. Its members include the counties, and cities within, of El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba. SACOG provides transportation planning and funding for the region, and serves as a forum for the study and resolution of regional issues. In addition to preparing the region's long-range transportation plan, SACOG approves the distribution of affordable housing in the region and assists in planning for transit, bicycle networks, clean air and airport land uses.

###