

\* To Yolo County DA Jeff Reisig

Jeff Reisig District Attorney July 12, 2016

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Carlos Matos Chairperson

## MCCC Justice Leadership Awards Multi-Cultural Community Council seeks nominations for annual luncheon

Laura Valdes

Co-Chairperson

Committee Members

Jeannette Ali

Alan Brownstein

**Kayton Carter** 

Griselda Castro

Elizabeth Coté

Hamza El-Nakhal

Diane Evans

Jeannie Johng-Nishikawa

Milton Lang

Gloria Partida

Jonathan Raven

Gary Sandy

Contact: Wendy Wilcox: wendy.wilcox@yolocounty.org

The Yolo County District Attorney's Multi-Cultural Community Council announces its Justice Leadership Awards Luncheon which will be held on Thursday, September 15, 2016, from 12:00 - 1:30 p.m. at the Yolo County Atrium located at 625 Court Street, Woodland, CA.

The mission of the Yolo County's Multi-Cultural Community Council is to enrich understanding of Yolo County's diverse population and to celebrate how cultural knowledge expands our ability to accept and appreciate differences. The Multi-Cultural Community Council is made up of individuals from throughout Yolo County. The MCCC is led by Yolo County District Attorney Jeff Reisig, along with MCCC Chairperson Carlos Matos. The MCCC acts as an advisory group to Reisig.

The awards luncheon is focused on recognizing individuals or organizations who promote multi-cultural relationships, acceptance and peace; forge diverse coalitions to assure ongoing community dialogue related to cultural awareness, the criminal justice system, and public safety; and ensure multi-cultural community participation in educational and informational programs related to accessing, understanding and providing input to the criminal justice system.

The MCCC is requesting nominations to recognize individuals or organizations in the following categories: Administration of Justice; Faith Based Communities; Public Schools; Human Services; and Community Engagement Volunteer. Nominations are due August 12, 2016.

For more information contact: Wendy Wilcox at wendy.wilcox@yolocounty.org

Tessa Smith ###

Clarence Van Hook

Patty Wong