BOE-58-G (P1) REV. 15 (05-16)

CLAIM FOR REASSESSMENT EXCLUSION FOR TRANSFER FROM GRANDPARENT TO GRANDCHILD

JESSE SALINAS - Yolo County
Assessor / Clerk-Recorder / Registrar of Voters
625 Court St, Room 104, Woodland, CA 95695-3490
Woodland/Davis (530) 666-8135 - Fax (530) 666-8213
West Sacramento (916) 375-6496 www.yolocounty.org/assessor

		NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS (Make necessary corrections to the printed name and n					
				A processing fee of no more than \$175 may be charged for claims filed untimely. The fee will apply if a claim is filed more than 60 days after the date of a second notice of potential eligibilit has been sent by the county assessor.	y		
Λ Ε) D	DPERTY					
		OR'S PARCEL NUMBER	PROPERT	PROPERTY ADDRESS			
DATE OF PURCHASE OR TRANSFER				RECORDER'S DOCUMENT NUMBER			
DATE	OF	DEATH OF GRANDPARENT (if applicable)	PROBATE	PROBATE NUMBER (if applicable)			
State tax.] Serv	es (A i ice.	Code, section 405(c)(2)(C)(i) which authorizes to foreign national who cannot obtain a social se The numbers are used by the Assessor and the	he use of social secu- curity number may po- e state to monitor the e	r Revenue and Taxation Code section 63.1. [See Title 42 Unity numbers for identification purposes in the administration of rovide a tax identification number issued by the Internal Reversal India.	an		
В. І	IKA	ANSFEROR(S)/SELLER(S) (GRANDPARENTS	5)				
1	1.	Print full name(s) of transferor(s)					
2	2. Was this property the principal residence of the transferor? ☐ Yes ☐ No						
	If yes, please check which one of the following exemptions was granted or was eligible to be granted on this property:						
	☐ Homeowners' Exemption ☐ Disabled Veterans' Exemption						
3	3. Was real property other than the principal residence of the transferor transferred? ☐ Yes ☐ No						
4	4. Was only a partial interest in the property transferred? Yes No If yes, percentage transferred%.						
5. Did you own this property as a joint tenant? ☐ Yes ☐ No							
6		i. If the transfer was through the medium of a will and/or trust, you must attach a full and complete copy of the will and/or trust and all amendments.					
7	7. Print name(s) of child(ren) of transferor(s)/seller(s) who is(are) the parent(s) of transferee(s) (grandchild):						
	ION	_					
true i knov	and ving	correct to the best of my knowledge and that I	laws of the State of 0 am the grandparent (California that the foregoing and any accompanying statements for their legal representative) of the transferees listed in Section se year value of my principal residence under Revenue and Taxa	C.		
SIGNATURE OF TRANSFEROR OR LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE PRINTED NA				DATE			
SIGNATURE OF TRANSFEROR OR LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE PRINTED NA			PRINTED NAME	DATE			
MAILING ADDRESS				DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER ()			
CITY, STATE, ZIP				EMAIL ADDRESS			

C.	TF	RANSFEREE(S)/BUYER(S) (GRANDCHILD) (additional transfere	ees please complete "C	" below)				
	1.	Print full name(s) of transferee(s)						
	•	Family relationship(s) to transferor(s)						
		If adopted, age at time of adoption Adopted by who						
	2							
•	۷.	Parent: Name of direct descendent of grandparent (son or daugh	•					
		Date of death of direct descendent						
		(Direct descendent must be deceased in order to qualify for	e provide death certificate.)					
		Social security number of direct descendent: a. Was deceased parent married or in a registered domestic pa	neans registered with the California Secretary of					
		State) as of the date of death? \(\subseteq \text{Yes} \subseteq \text{No} \)	leans registered with the Gamornia Secretary of					
		 b. Is the spouse or registered domestic partner of the deceased Parent of the grandchild (go to question c). Stepparent of the grandchild (a stepparent to the grandchild of the grandchild must be deceased) (go to question 3). 	d in meeting the condition that "all of the parents"					
	c. Had surviving spouse/partner remarried or entered into a registered domestic partnership as of the date of purchase Yes No							
	If yes , date of marriage or registration of the domestic partnership must have occurred prior to the date of purchase or transfer to for exclusion. Date of marriage/partnership registration: (Please provide marriage or part certificate.)							
		If no , surviving spouse/partner is still considered a child of grandparents and must also be deceased prior to the purchase or transfer to qualify for exclusion. Date of death (Please provide death certificate.)						
;	ved an excludable principal residence, or interest rents will not be excluded as a principal residence on of other real property received from parents.)							
	er:							
•	4.	Did transferee receive real property other than a principal residence from deceased parent who is a direct descendent grandparents? (If transferee has already received an excludable principal residence, or interest therein, from parents, then the purchase transfer of a principal residence from grandparents will not be excluded as a principal residence but will be applied toward the one mill dollar (\$1,000,000) full cash value limit exclusion of other real property received from deceased parents.) Yes No If yes, attach list of all previous transfers (include for each property: the county, Assessor's parcel number, situs address, date of transfer.)						
Note	: 7	names of all transferees, and the family relationship). The Assessor may require additional legal documentation to suppo	ort the above answers.					
		ADDITIONAL TRANSFEREE(S)/BUYER(S) (GRANDCHILD) (continued)						
		NAME		RELATIONSHIP				
		CERTIFIC	CATION					
true certif	an y t	(or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State d correct to the best of my knowledge and that I am the grandchi that all my parents who qualify as children of my transferor grandp ransferees are eligible transferees within the meaning of section 6	of California that the fo ild (or their legal repres- parents are deceased a	entative) of the transferors listed in Section B. I s of the date of transfer or purchase, and that all				
		URE OF TRANSFEREE OR LEGAL REPRESENTATIVE		DATE				
MAILI	NG	GADDRESS		DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER				
				()				
CITY,	ST	ATE, ZIP		EMAIL ADDRESS				

CLAIM FOR REASSESSMENT EXCLUSION FOR TRANSFER BETWEEN GRANDPARENT AND GRANDCHILD

Revenue and Taxation Code, Section 63.1

IMPORTANT: In order to qualify for this exclusion, a claim form must be completed and signed by the transferors and a transferee and file with the Assessor. A claim form is timely filed if it is filed within three years a er the date of purchase or transfer, or prior to the transfer of the real property to a third party, whichever is earlier. If a claim form has not been filed by the date specified in the preceding sentence, it will be timely if filed within six months after the date of mailing of a notice of supplemental or escape assessment for this property. If a claim is not timely filed, the exclusion will be granted beginning with the calendar year in which you file your claim. Complete all of Sections A, B, and C and answer each question or your claim may be denied. Proof of eligibility, including a copy of the transfer document, trust, or will, may be required. In situations where all information is not known by the due date, the parties should file this claim with as much information as possible, and later amend that claim with any revised information.

- 1. This exclusion only applies to transfers that occur on or after March 27, 1996;
- 2. In order to qualify, all the parents of that grandchild **must** be deceased as of the date of purchase or transfer. As used in the preceding sentence, parents are those persons who qualify under section 63.1 as children of the grandparents. However, for transfers that occur on or after January 1, 2006, a son-in-law or daughter-in-law of the grandparent that is a stepparent to the grandchild need not be deceased in meeting the condition that "all of the parents" of the grandchild must be deceased.
- 3. In order to qualify, the real property must be transferred from grandparents to their grandchildren;
- 4. If you do not complete and return this form, it may result in this property being reassessed.
- 5. California law provides, with certain limitations, that a "change in ownership" does not include the purchase or transfer of:
 - The principal residence between parents and children and certain grandparent and grandchild transfers (see above); and/or
 - The first \$1,000,000 of the factored base year value of other real property between parents and childre and certain grandparents and grandchild transfers (see above).

NOTE: Effective January 1, 2009, Revenue and Taxation Code Section 63.1(j) allows a county board of supervisors to authorize a one-time processing fee of not more than \$175 to recover costs incurred by the county assessor due to the failure of an eligible transferee to file a claim for the grandparent-grandchild change in ownership exclusion after two written requests have been sent to an eligible transferee by the county assessor.

For your convenience, we have highlighted the areas of the form that must be completed. We ask that you return this form to our office within 45 days. If we haven't received it within 45 days, we will send a second notice. If the form is not returned within 60 days of the second notice we may reassess your property. Should the claim be subsequently returned within the timely filed period, we will charge a fee of \$175 to process your claim for exclusion per Revenue and Taxation Code Section 63.1 (j)(2).

Questions are best directed to:

Nikki Pool by email nicole.pool@yolocounty.org, fax (530) 666-8213 or phone (530) 666-8135 ext. 9365.