YOLO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION



CHAIR OLIN WOODS Public Member

VICE CHAIR MATT REXROAD Supervisor – 3<sup>rd</sup> District

> WADE COWAN Mayor City of Winters

DON SAYLOR Supervisor – 2<sup>nd</sup> District

> WILL ARNOLD Councilmember City of Davis

ALTERNATES ROBERT RAMMING Public Member

JIM PROVENZA Supervisor – 4<sup>th</sup> District

> ANGEL BARAJAS Councilmember City of Woodland

Staff
CHRISTINE M. CRAWFORD, AICP
Executive Officer

SARAH KIRCHGESSNER Management Analyst

> TERRI TUCK Commission Clerk

ERIC MAY Commission Counsel

625 Court Street, Suite 203 Woodland CA 95695

> (530) 666-8048 lafco@volocounty.org

> > www.yololafco.org

## **NOTICE OF VACANCY**

## **ALTERNATE PUBLIC MEMBER**

The Yolo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) is currently accepting applications for the alternate public member seat and invites interested persons to apply.

LAFCo is an independent agency created by the California State Legislature in 1963. LAFCo is charged with encouraging orderly governmental boundaries and efficient services, discouraging urban sprawl, and preserving agricultural and open space resources. The Commission meets these objectives by conducting municipal service reviews and other special studies, regulating the boundaries of cities and special districts through an approval process to form or dissolve cities and special districts, and by annexations or detachments of land to and from incorporated cities and special districts in Yolo County.

Yolo LAFCo is composed of five voting members and three alternates. Two regular members and one alternate are elected county supervisors appointed by the Yolo County Board of Supervisors. Two regular members and one alternate are elected city officials appointed by the Mayors of the County's four incorporated cities. The public member and alternate are citizens appointed by the four regular members of the Commission. The alternate public member has all the rights and duties of the regular member, in their absence. The term of office for the open alternate public member seat is four years, expiring May 2021.

Yolo LAFCo meetings are typically held on the fourth Thursday in every month except for August and November where there is no regular meeting, and on the first Thursday in the month in December. Meetings are held at 9:00 a.m. in the Yolo County Board of Supervisors Chambers, 625 Court Street, Room 206, Woodland, CA, 95695, or at a time and place set and noticed by the Commission, Commission Chair or the Executive Officer of the Commission.

**Requirements**: Applicants must be a resident and registered voter of Yolo County, and cannot be officers or employees of the county or any city or special district with territory in Yolo County. Such persons shall be eligible for appointment but upon appointment, shall resign any conflicting position specified above.

To be considered, a completed application form must be received in the LAFCo office by **9:00 a.m., Monday, May 1, 2017**. The Commission will consider the appointment tentatively at its May 25, 2017 meeting. The office is located at 625 Court Street, Suite 203, Woodland, CA, 95695. Applications may be submitted by email at <a href="mailto:lafco@yolocounty.org">lafco@yolocounty.org</a>, U.S. mail, or hand-delivered; post marks will not be accepted. To download an application form, and for more information about Yolo LAFCo, please visit our website at <a href="https://www.yololafco.org">www.yololafco.org</a>, or contact the LAFCo office at (530) 666-8048.