#### MASS ISOLATION ORDER OF THE YOLO COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICER

DATE OF ORDER: <u>July 24, 2020</u> AMENDED ON: <u>October 27, 2020</u>

Please read this Order carefully. Violation of, or failure to comply with, this Order is a public nuisance subject to citation, abatement, or both, as well as a misdemeanor punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. (California Government Code § 8634 and 8665; California Health and Safety Code §§ 120155, 120220, 120275, 120295; California Penal Code § 69, 148(a)(1)); Executive Orders 25-20 and 60-20.

#### **SUMMARY OF THIS ORDER**

California and Yolo County are in a State of Emergency because of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic. To help slow COVID-19's spread, protect vulnerable individuals, and prevent the healthcare system in the County from being overwhelmed, it is necessary for the County Health Officer to isolate persons with COVID-19. Isolation separates individuals who have COVID-19 from others until it is determined that they have completed the isolation period, as defined herein, and are no longer at risk for spreading the disease to others.

This Order is issued based on evidence of continued occurrence and, more recently, a significant increase in the spread of COVID-19 within Yolo County, the Sacramento region, and the State of California, and considers scientific evidence and best practices regarding the most effective approaches to slow the transmission of communicable diseases generally and COVID-19 specifically. With the virus that causes COVID-19, people can be infected and contagious and not have any symptoms, meaning they are asymptomatic. People can also be infected and contagious 48 hours before developing symptoms (pre-symptomatic). Further, many people with the COVID-19 virus have mild symptoms and do not recognize they are infected and contagious, and they can unintentionally infect others.

In addition to reasons set forth above, this Order is also issued in light of the existence, as of July 21, 2020, of 1,200 confirmed cases of infection by the COVID-19 virus in the County, including a significant and escalating number of suspected cases of community transmission, and 34 deaths. On Monday, July 21, 2020, an additional 61 Californians lost their lives to COVID-19 while the overall positivity rate over a 14-day period (ending on July 21) increased to 7.5 percent, up by 0.7 percent from 14 days prior. Statewide, there has been a significant increase in hospitalizations over the last 14 days, with 8,681 positive and suspected COVID-19 positive individuals hospitalized as of July 20, versus 7,499 such individuals on July 6. ICU admissions have also increased to 2,006 patients with COVID-19 as of July 20, versus 1,740 patients as of July 6. This Order is necessary to control and reduce the rate of community spread and to reinforce the need for safe interactions as the State allows allow additional activities. The Health Officer will continue to assess the public health situation as it evolves and may modify this Order, or issue additional Orders, related to COVID-19, as changing circumstances dictate.

#### **ORDER**

UNDER THE AUTHORITY OF CALIFORNIA HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE SECTIONS 101040, 101085, 120175, AND 120220, THE HEALTH OFFICER OF THE COUNTY OF YOLO ("HEALTH OFFICER") HEREBY ORDERS AS FOLLOWS:

- 1. All individuals who have COVID-19, as described in Section 2 of this Order, must isolate themselves and follow all instructions in this Order and the Public Health guidance documents referenced in this Order. Self-isolation is required because a person with COVID-19 can easily spread the virus to others. Isolation separates these ill individuals from others to prevent the spread of COVID-19.
- 2. For purposes of this Order, an individual is considered to have COVID-19 if the individual was diagnosed with COVID-19 on the basis of a positive lab test for the presence of the coronavirus (known as SARS-CoV-2) that causes COVID-19, for so long as the individual remains in the "infectious period," as described in Section 3.c., below.
- 3. Instructions. All individuals who are diagnosed with COVID-19 must immediately take the following actions for the full length of the "infectious period," as defined in Section 3.c., below:
  - a. Isolate themselves in their home or another residence for 10 days. They may not leave their place of isolation or enter any other public or private place, except to receive necessary medical care or during an emergency that requires evacuation to protect the health and safety of the person.
  - b. Carefully review and closely follow all requirements listed in the "Home Isolation Instructions" posted at <a href="http://www.covidtesting.yolocounty.org/">http://www.covidtesting.yolocounty.org/</a> and attached to this order.
  - c. Tell their close contacts that they need to quarantine themselves. Close contacts who should be notified to self-quarantine are people who were near them during their infectious period. The infectious period commences 48 hours before symptoms began (or, in the absence of symptoms, 48 hours before the date of administration of a positive test) and ends when the isolation period is over (see Section 4 below). Close contacts of an individual who has COVID-19 are persons who, during the individual's infectious period, were within six feet of the individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or longer over a 24-hour period.\* These may include persons who:
    - Live in, have visited, or have stayed overnight at the individual's residence; or
    - Are intimate sexual partners of the individual; or
    - Worked within six feet of the individual; or

- Provide or provided care to the individual without wearing a mask, a face shield or googles, gown, and gloves; or
- Have been identified as close contacts by the Yolo County Health and Human Services Agency.

\*Note: The 15-minute standard was modified on October 27, 2020 to conform to changed CDC guidance, which now considers the cumulative total time of exposure within a 24-hour period.

- d. Refer their close contacts to the "Home Quarantine Instructions" posted at <a href="http://www.covidtesting.yolocounty.org/">http://www.covidtesting.yolocounty.org/</a> and attached to this order, which describe steps that household contacts, intimate partners, and caregivers must take to prevent spread of COVID-19. Close contacts have likely been exposed to COVID-19 and if infected, can easily spread COVID-19 to others, even if they have only mild symptoms.
- 4. The **period of isolation** for an individual will be one of the following:
- a. Individuals without symptoms must isolate for **10 days** from the date of a positive test.
- b. Individuals with symptoms must isolate **until**:
  - At least 24 hours have passed since recovery, defined as resolution of both fever without the use of fever-reducing medications and improvement of cough and shortness of breath if present; AND
  - At least 10 days have passed since their symptoms started.
- 5. The Health Officer may take additional action(s), which may include civil detention or requiring one to stay at a health facility or other location, to protect the public's health if an individual who is subject to this Order violates or fails to comply with this Order.
- 6. This Order shall become effective immediately upon its issuance and will continue to be in effect until it is extended, rescinded, superseded, or amended in writing by the Health Officer.
- 7. All State orders are complementary to this Order. Where a conflict exists between a local order and any state public health order related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the most restrictive provision controls pursuant to, and consistent with, California Health and Safety Code § 131080 and the Health Officer Practice Guide for Communicable Disease Control in California, unless the State Health Officer issues an order that expressly determines a provision of a local public health order is a menace to public health.
- 8. Pursuant to Government Code §§ 26602 and 41601 and Health and Safety Code § 101029, the Health Officer requests that the Sheriff and all chiefs of police in the County ensure

compliance with and enforce this Order. The violation of any provision of this Order constitutes an imminent threat and menace to public health, constitutes a public nuisance, and pursuant to Section 120275 of the Health & Safety Code is punishable as a misdemeanor by fine, imprisonment, or both. Other administrative and judicial remedies are also available.

- 9. Copies of this Order shall promptly be: (1) made available at the County Administration Building at 625 Court Street, Woodland, CA 95695; (2) posted on the County website (www.yolocounty.org); and (3) provided to any member of the public requesting a copy of this Order.
- 10. If any provision of this Order or its application to any person or circumstance is held to be invalid, the reminder of the Order, including the application of such part or provision to other persons or circumstances, shall not be affected and shall continue in full force and effect. To this end, the provisions of this Order are severable.

IT IS SO ORDERED:

Dr. Aimee Sisson, MD, MPH

Health Officer of the County of Yolo

**Attachments:** 

**Attachment A. Home Isolation Instructions** 

**Attachment B. Home Quarantine Instructions** 

Dated: October 27, 2020



# Instructions for Home Isolation and Health Monitoring

# For people with COVID-19

You have tested positive for COVID-19. You will need to stay in your home until you are well. This is called 'home isolation.' When you are able to leave your home depends on your symptoms.

If your employer requests confirmation that you have completed the isolation period, please complete and turn in to your employer the self-attestation form at: <a href="https://bit.ly/EnglishAttestation">https://bit.ly/EnglishAttestation</a>.

## If you have mild symptoms, stay at home for at least 10 days after your symptoms began.

- If you still have cough and fever after 10 days, continue to stay at home until 24 hours after:
  - \* fever has gone away (without using a fever-reducing medication like Tylenol or ibuprofen) AND
  - your symptoms like cough, body aches, sore throat, have improved.
- After this time, you will no longer need to be isolated.

### If you tested positive, but did not have any symptoms at the time of testing:

- You should remain in isolation for 10 days from the date the test was performed.
  - \* During this time, you should also monitor yourself for symptoms. If any symptoms develop during this time, you should remain in isolation as noted above.

The following are some preventative steps you can take to help reduce the spread of COVID19 in your community and household.

- Protect the Public:
  - \* Stay home except to see your doctor. Reschedule any non-essential healthcare appointments (non-urgent doctor's appointments, dentist appointments, etc.).
  - Do not go to work or school.
  - \* Do not use public transportation (like YoloBus, Taxi, UBER, LYFT)
  - Do not travel
  - \* Do not go to the movies, to church, to a shopping mall or any place where lots of people
  - \* may gather.
  - \* You can go outside in your own yard (not a shared yard).
- Protect your family:
  - \* Cover your coughs and sneezes, use tissues and throw them away immediately.
  - \* You and your family should wash hands frequently using soap and water for at least 20 seconds or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.

If you have any concerns or questions, please call your primary care doctor first. You can also call the Yolo County COVID-19 Response Operations Center Line at: (833) 965-6268 (833-YOLOCOV).



# Instructions for Home Quarantine and Health Monitoring

# For close contacts/household members

Even though you may not feel sick, you must remain quarantined at home since you've had close contact with someone with known COVID-19. Quarantine is a way to prevent the spread of the virus to more people. You will need to stay home and monitor yourself for any signs of illness.

### During your quarantine period, follow these instructions:

- 1. Stay in your home.
- 2. Do not go to work or school.
- 3. Do not go to the grocery store or run other errands (e.g. going to the pharmacy) unless it is absolutely necessary. Please have family members or friends run errands and drop off items at your doorstep.
- 4. Do not have visitors during the quarantine period.
- 5. Wash your hands frequently with soap and water, especially after coughing, sneezing, blowing your nose, going to the bathroom, or having direct contact with moist materials such as tissue and used face coverings. Hand sanitizer with more than 60% alcohol can also be used instead of soap and water.
- 6. Cover your mouth and nose with tissue when you sneeze or cough. Immediately wash your hands with soap and water afterwards.
- 7. Do not share toothbrushes, food, drinks, or eating utensils.

#### Monitor your health:

- Monitor yourself for symptoms. The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, cough and shortness of breath.
- If you start to feel sick, please contact your healthcare provider and let them know you have had contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19. If you have mild symptoms, your healthcare provider will most likely advise you to take care of yourself at home as you would with any other mild cold or flu.

#### When does quarantine end:

- If you do not live with someone who has COVID-19, your quarantine will end after 14 days from last exposure to the known COVID-19 positive individual.
- If you live with someone who has COVID-19, you will need to be quarantined for 14 days after your household member no longer needs to be isolated.

If you have any concerns or questions, please call your primary care doctor first. You can also call the Yolo County COVID-19 Response Operations Center Line at: (833) 965-6268 (833-YOLOCOV).