MASS QUARANTINE ORDER OF THE YOLO COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH OFFICER

DATE OF ORDER: <u>July 24, 2020</u> AMENDED ON: <u>December 18, 2020; February 12, 2021; March 5, 2021; May 12, 2021</u>

Please read this Order carefully. Violation of, or failure to comply with, this Order is a public nuisance subject to citation, abatement, or both, as well as a misdemeanor punishable by fine, imprisonment, or both. (California Government Code § 8634 and 8665; California Health and Safety Code §§ 120155, 120220, 120275, 120295; California Penal Code § 69, 148(a)(1)); Executive Orders 25-20 and 60-20.

SUMMARY OF THIS ORDER

California and Yolo County are in a State of Emergency because of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic. To help slow COVID-19's spread, protect vulnerable individuals, and prevent the healthcare system in the County from being overwhelmed, it is necessary for the County Health Officer to require the quarantine of persons exposed to a person diagnosed with COVID-19. Quarantine separates individuals who were exposed to COVID-19 from others until it is determined that they are not at risk for spreading the disease.

This Order is issued based on evidence of continued occurrence and, more recently, a significant increase in the spread of COVID-19 within Yolo County, the Sacramento region, and the State of California, and considers scientific evidence and best practices regarding the most effective approaches to slow the transmission of communicable diseases generally and COVID-19 specifically. With the virus that causes COVID-19, people can be infected and contagious and not have any symptoms, meaning they are asymptomatic. People can also be infected and contagious 48 hours before developing symptoms (pre-symptomatic). Further, many people with the COVID-19 virus have mild symptoms and do not recognize they are infected and contagious, and they can unintentionally infect others.

In addition to reasons set forth above, this Order is also issued in light of the existence, as of May 12, 2021, of 13,824 confirmed cases of infection by the COVID-19 virus in the County and 208 deaths. On Tuesday, May 11, 2021, 59 Californians lost their lives to COVID-19. This Order is necessary to control and reduce the rate of community spread and to reinforce the need for safe interactions. The Health Officer will continue to assess the public health situation as it evolves and may modify this Order, or issue additional Orders, related to COVID-19, as changing circumstances dictate.

ORDER

UNDER THE AUTHORITY OF CALIFORNIA HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE SECTIONS 101040, 101085, 120175, AND 120220, THE HEALTH OFFICER OF THE COUNTY OF YOLO ("HEALTH OFFICER") HEREBY ORDERS AS FOLLOWS:

1. All individuals who had close contact with a person with COVID-19 ("Case"), as described in Section 2 of this Order, must quarantine themselves and follow all instructions in this Order and the Public Health guidance documents referenced in this Order. Limited exceptions to these requirements are set forth in Sections 4-7 of this Order.

Mass Quarantine Order of the Yolo County Health Officer COVID-19 Pandemic Amended May 12, 2021 2. For purposes of this Order, an individual is considered to have had close contact with a Case if, during the Case's infectious period, the person was within six feet of the Case for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or longer over a 24-hour period.* Examples may include persons who:

- Live in, have visited, or have stayed overnight at the Case's residence; or
- Are intimate sexual partners of the Case; or
- Worked within six feet of the Case; or
- Provided care to the Case without wearing appropriate personal protective equipment; or
- Have been identified as close contacts by the Yolo County Health and Human Services Agency.

For purposes of this Order, a Case is infectious from 48 hours before his or her symptoms began (or, in the absence of symptoms, from 48 hours before the date of administration of a positive test for COVID-19) and until he or she is released from isolation.

*Note: The 15-minute standard was modified on October 27, 2020 to conform to changed CDC guidance, which now considers the cumulative total time of exposure within a 24-hour period.

3. Instructions. All individuals who have had close contact with a Case must immediately take the following actions:

a. Stay in their home or another residence for 10 days** from the last date that they were in contact with the Case. Persons are required to quarantine themselves for 10 days after exposure because they are at high risk of developing and spreading COVID-19. Certain individuals, including residents or employees of high-risk congregate settings and those residing or working with severely immunosuppressed persons, are subject to a longer quarantine period as set forth in Section 8 below.

**Note: The standard quarantine period was shortened from 14 days to 10 days on December 18, 2020 to conform to changed CDC and CDPH guidance. The incubation period after exposure to the virus that causes COVID-19 remains up to 14 days in length, but the risk of developing COVID-19 is highest in the first 7-10 days after exposure.

b. Quarantined persons may not leave their place of quarantine or enter any other public or private place, except to receive necessary medical care or during an emergency that requires evacuation to protect the health and safety of the person. Only essential visitors such as emergency medical services personnel may enter the place of quarantine during the quarantine period.

c. Carefully review and closely follow all requirements listed in the "**Home Quarantine Instructions**" posted at <u>http://www.covidtesting.yolocounty.org/</u> and attached to this Order.

d. If the quarantined person becomes sick with any symptom of COVID-19 (even if those symptoms are very mild), they shall isolate themselves at home and away from other people and follow the "Home Isolation Instructions" posted at the above link and attached to this order. Symptoms of COVID-19 include fever, chills, cough, shortness of breath, sore throat, headache, tiredness, muscle or body aches, new loss of taste or smell, congestion or runny nose, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea. After release from quarantine, the individual must continue self-monitor for COVID-19 symptoms through 14 days after exposure.

4. First Exception. Notwithstanding the foregoing, health care workers, emergency responders, or social service workers who work face-to-face with clients in the child welfare system or in long-term care facilities who are close contacts of a Case are not subject to the generally applicable quarantine requirements of this Order under the following circumstances:

a. The worker informs his or her employer about the worker's close contact to a Case;

b. The worker is asymptomatic, and the worker's employer determines, based on staffing needs, that the worker needs to report to work; AND

c. The worker receives a negative PCR test result for the virus that causes COVID-19 from a specimen collected after day 5 post-exposure.

When this exception is invoked, the following requirements apply:

d. The worker must follow the Instructions in Section 3 above except that the worker may return to work after 7 days have passed since their exposure. The worker must remain in their place of quarantine except while at work or traveling to and from their place or work.

e. The worker must wear a surgical facemask at all times during work and continue to wear a face covering outside the home through 14 days after the exposure.

5. Second Exception. Notwithstanding the foregoing, health care workers who are close contacts of a Case are not subject to the generally applicable quarantine requirements of this Order under the following circumstances:

a. The worker informs his or her employer about the worker's close contact to a Case;

b. The worker is asymptomatic, and the worker's employer determines, based on critical staffing shortages, that the worker needs to continue working.

When this exception is invoked, the following requirements apply:

c. The worker must follow the Instructions in Section 3 above except that the worker may continue working after their exposure. The worker must remain in their place of quarantine except while at work or traveling to and from their place or work.

d. The worker must wear a surgical facemask at all times during work and continue to wear a face covering outside the home through 14 days after the exposure.

6. Third Exception. In addition, per CDC public health recommendations, vaccinated persons* with an exposure to someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not required to quarantine if they meet both of the following criteria:

a. Are fully vaccinated (i.e., two or more weeks have passed following receipt of the second dose in a two-dose series, or two or more weeks following receipt of one dose of a single-dose vaccine); and

b. Have remained asymptomatic since the current COVID-19 exposure.

Persons who do not meet both of the above criteria must continue to follow this Order after exposure to someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19. In addition, vaccinated persons who reside in long-term care facilities must continue to follow this Order after exposure to someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19.

*A person is a "vaccinated person" for purposes of this Order only if they have received a COVID-19 vaccine that has received an Emergency Use Authorization from the Food and Drug Administration.

7. Fourth Exception. In addition, per CDC guidelines, persons who have tested positive for COVID-19 and recovered, and who have remained asymptomatic after their current COVID-19 exposure, are not required to quarantine after close contact with a Case occurring within 90 days of their initial positive test.

8. High-Risk Congregate Settings and Severely Immunosuppressed Persons: Individuals who reside or work in high-risk congregate living settings or with severely immunosuppressed persons are subject to a longer quarantine period. Such settings include skilled nursing facilities, prisons, jails, or shelters, and severely immunosuppressed persons include bone marrow or solid organ transplant recipients or those undergoing chemotherapy. These individuals must follow the Instructions in Section 3 above except that they must quarantine for 14 days, rather than 10 days, after close contact with a Case. In the event of a critical staffing shortage, the individual or their employer may petition the Health Officer in writing to request the application of the First or Second Exception above. 9. The Health Officer may take additional action(s), which may include civil detention or requiring one to stay at a health facility or other location, to protect the public's health if an individual who is subject to this Order violates or fails to comply with this Order.

10. This Order shall become effective immediately upon its issuance and will continue to be in effect until it is extended, rescinded, superseded, or amended in writing by the Health Officer.

11. All State orders are complementary to this Order. Where a conflict exists between a local order and any state public health order related to the COVID-19 pandemic, the most restrictive provision controls pursuant to, and consistent with, California Health and Safety Code § 131080, unless the State Health Officer issues an order that expressly determines a provision of a local public health order is a menace to public health.

12. Pursuant to Government Code §§ 26602 and 41601 and Health and Safety Code § 101029, the Health Officer requests that the Sheriff and all chiefs of police in the County ensure compliance with and enforce this Order. The violation of any provision of this Order constitutes an imminent threat and menace to public health, constitutes a public nuisance, and pursuant to Section 120275 of the Health & Safety Code is punishable as a misdemeanor by fine, imprisonment, or both. Other administrative and judicial remedies are also available.

13. Copies of this Order shall promptly be: (1) made available at the County Administration Building at 625 Court Street, Woodland, CA 95695; (2) posted on the County website (www.yolocounty.org); and (3) provided to any member of the public requesting a copy of this Order.

14. If any provision of this Order or its application to any person or circumstance is held to be invalid, the reminder of the Order, including the application of such part or provision to other persons or circumstances, shall not be affected and shall continue in full force and effect. To this end, the provisions of this Order are severable.

IT IS SO ORDERED:

8

Dated: May 12, 2021

Aimee Sisson, MD, MPH Health Officer of the County of Yolo

Attachments:

Attachment A. Home Quarantine Instructions Attachment B. Home Isolation Instructions

ATTACHMENT A



Instructions for Home Quarantine and Health Monitoring

For close contacts/household members

Even though you may not feel sick, you must remain quarantined at home since you've had close contact with someone known to have COVID-19. Quarantine is a way to prevent the spread of the virus to more people. You will need to stay home and monitor yourself for any signs of illness.

During your quarantine period, follow these instructions:

- 1. Stay in your home and away from other household members.
- 2. Do not go to work or school.
- 3. Do not go to the grocery store or run other errands (e.g., going to the pharmacy) unless it is absolutely necessary. Have family members or friends run errands and drop off items at your doorstep.
- 4. Do not have visitors during the quarantine period.
- 5. Wash your hands frequently with soap and water, especially after coughing, sneezing, blowing your nose, going to the bathroom, or having direct contact with moist materials such as tissue and used face coverings. Hand sanitizer with more than 60% alcohol can also be used instead of soap and water.
- 6. Cover your mouth and nose with tissue when you sneeze or cough. Immediately wash your hands with soap and water afterwards.
- 7. Do not share toothbrushes, food, drinks, or eating utensils.

Monitor your health:

- Monitor yourself for symptoms. Symptoms of COVID-19 include fever, cough, shortness of breath, sore throat, headache, body aches, fatigue, runny nose or congestion, new loss of taste or smell, nausea, vomiting, or diarrhea.
- If you start to feel sick, please contact your healthcare provider and let them know you have had contact with someone who has tested positive for COVID-19. Seek testing for COVID-19.

When does quarantine end:

- If you do not live with someone who has COVID-19, your quarantine will end after 10 days* from last exposure to the known COVID-19 positive individual.
- If you live with someone who has COVID-19 and can't stay separated, you will need to be quarantined for 10 days after your household member no longer needs to be isolated.

*Some health care, emergency response, and social services workers may be able to end quarantine after 7 days with a negative test when there are staffing shortages.

If you have any concerns or questions, please call your primary care doctor first. You can also call the Yolo County COVID-19 Response Operations Center Line at: (833) 965-6268 (833-YOLOCOV).

ATTACHMENT B



Instructions for Home Isolation and Health Monitoring

For people with COVID-19

You have tested positive for COVID-19. You will need to stay in your home until you are well. This is called 'home isolation.' When you are able to leave your home depends on your symptoms.

If your employer requests confirmation that you have completed the isolation period, please complete and turn in to your employer the self-attestation form at: <u>https://bit.ly/EnglishAttestation.</u>

If you have symptoms, stay at home for at least 10 days after your symptoms began.

- If you still have symptoms after 10 days, continue to stay home until:
 - * your symptoms have improved, AND
 - * 24 hours after fever has gone away (without using a fever-reducing medication like Tylenol or ibuprofen)

If you tested positive, but did not have any symptoms at the time of testing:

- You should remain in isolation for 10 days from the date the test was performed.
 - * During this time, you should also monitor yourself for symptoms. If any symptoms develop during this time, you should remain in isolation as noted above.

The following are some steps you can take to help reduce the spread of COVID19 in your community and household.

- Protect the Public:
 - * Stay home except to see your doctor. Reschedule any non-essential healthcare appointments (non-urgent doctor's appointments, dentist appointments, etc.).
 - * Do not go to work or school.
 - * Do not use public transportation (like YoloBus, Taxi, UBER, Lyft)
 - * Do not travel.
 - * Do not gather or go to places where lots of people may gather.
 - * You can go outside in your own yard (not a shared yard).
- Protect Your Family:
 - * Stay in your own room. If you leave your room, wear a mask. Cover your coughs and sneezes.
 - * You and your family should wash hands frequently using soap and water for at least 20 seconds or use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer.

If you have any concerns or questions, please call your primary care doctor first. You can also call the Yolo County COVID-19 Response Operations Center Line at: (833) 965-6268 (833-YOLOCOV).