

COUNTY OF YOLO

Health and Human Services Agency

Karen Larsen, LMFT Director

Aimee Sisson, MD, MPH Public Health Officer MAILING ADDRESS 137 N. Cottonwood Street • Woodland, CA 95695 www.yolocounty.org

Health Advisory

Date: December 21, 2020

To: All Yolo County Residents, Employers, Employees, and Health Care Providers

From: Aimee Sisson, MD, MPH, Health Officer

Subject: Revised COVID-19 Quarantine Guidance [Corrected]

The December 18, 2020 version of this Advisory has been revised to remove the requirement for a 14day quarantine of individuals admitted to high-risk congregate living settings. Such facilities are encouraged to keep newly admitted residents separate from other residents for 14 days, but are not required by the Mass Quarantine Order of Yolo County Public Health Officer to do so. Depending on facility type, other regulatory entities may require 14-day separation of newly admitted residents.

SUMMARY

Yolo County has adopted the California Department of Public Health's recent quarantine guidance for COVID-19. Effective immediately, asymptomatic close contacts of a confirmed case of COVID-19 may discontinue quarantine after 10 days without testing. Certain essential workers who are asymptomatic close contacts may discontinue quarantine after 7 days if a PCR test performed at least 5 days after exposure has a negative result.

BACKGROUND

On December 2, 2020, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) updated its <u>quarantine</u> <u>recommendations</u> to include options to reduce quarantine for contacts of persons with COVID-19. The CDC continues to recommend a quarantine period of 14 days based on the 14-day upper bound of the incubation period of the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes COVID-19. However, recognizing that a 14-day quarantine may pose a significant economic and mental health burden, the CDC allows for a shorter quarantine period when the full 14-day quarantine period is not possible. This change is based on evidence from modeling studies that shows only a relatively small increase in the risk of missing an infection when a shortened quarantine period is used. However, the post-quarantine transmission risk increases as the quarantine period shortens, such that release after 7 days of quarantine poses more risk than release after 10 days. This is why a negative test is required to shorten the quarantine period to 7 days.

On December 14, 2020, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) issued <u>COVID-19 Quarantine</u> <u>Guidance</u> based on the CDC's updated recommendations. CDPH now allows people who have no symptoms to quarantine for only 10 days after a close-contact exposure to someone with COVID-19. CDPH limits the use of the 7-day quarantine period with a negative test to only certain health care,

Davis 600 A Street Davis, CA 95616 Mental Health (530) 757-5530 West Sacramento 500 Jefferson Boulevard West Sacramento, CA95605 Service Center (916) 375-6200 Mental Health (916) 375-6350 Public Health (916) 375-6380 Winters 111 East Grant Avenue Winters, CA 95694 Service Center (530) 406-4444

Woodland

25 & 137 N. Cottonwood Street Woodland, CA 95695 Service Center (530) 661-2750 Mental Health (530) 666-8630 Public Health (530) 666-8645 emergency response, and social service workers. CDPH also notes that there are settings, such as skilled nursing facilities, in which a 14-day quarantine period should be maintained.

Effective immediately, Yolo County is adopting CDPH's COVID-19 Quarantine Guidance for all close contacts who live, work, study, or engage in other activities in Yolo County. This means that:

- Asymptomatic close contacts may discontinue quarantine <u>10 days</u> after the date of last exposure without testing. All contacts released from quarantine before 14 days must:
 - Self-monitor for <u>COVID-19 symptoms</u> through day 14. If symptoms develop, they must immediately isolate and seek testing.
 - Wear a face covering and maintain at least 6 feet of distance from others through day 14. There are 3 exceptions to the standard 10-day guarantine.
- Asymptomatic close contacts who are health care workers, emergency responders, or social service workers in the child welfare system or long-term care facilities may discontinue quarantine <u>7 days</u> after the date of last exposure <u>if a PCR test performed after day 5 post-exposure provides a negative</u> <u>result</u>.
 - This 7-day-with-negative-test approach should <u>only</u> be used <u>during staffing shortages</u>.
 - Contacts must wear surgical face masks at all times during work and continue to wear face coverings when outside the home through 14 days after their last exposure. They must also self-monitor for <u>COVID-19 symptoms</u> through day 14. and immediately isolate and seek testing if symptoms develop.
 - Contacts are released from quarantine only to work and to travel to and from work and must otherwise quarantine for 10 days as above.
- During critical staffing shortages (when patient care would otherwise be threatened), asymptomatic health care workers may continue to work after an exposure.
 - Contacts must wear surgical face masks at all times during work and continue to wear face coverings when outside the home through 14 days after their last exposure. They must also self-monitor for <u>COVID-19 symptoms</u> through day 14. and immediately isolate and seek testing if symptoms develop.
 - Contacts are released from quarantine only to work and to travel to and from work and must otherwise quarantine for 10 days as above.
- Persons who reside or work in high-risk congregate living settings (such as long-term care facilities, prisons, jails, or shelters) or persons who reside or work with severely immunocompromised individuals (such as bone marrow or solid organ transplant recipients or persons undergoing chemotherapy) must continue to quarantine for 14 days after an exposure.
 - The requirement for a 14-day quarantine is based on serious consequences of disease spread in this highly vulnerable population.
 - Exceptions to the required 14-day quarantine for this population may be requested in writing from the Health Officer in cases of critical staffing shortages where continuity of operations is in jeopardy.

Useful <u>calculators</u> for determining end dates for isolation and quarantine periods are available at <u>https://www.yolocounty.org/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing/.</u>

Yolo County guidance documents and health officer orders are being updated to reflect the above changes in quarantine requirements.