

#### STATE OF CALIFORNIA MANDATES - BUSINESSES

#### **AB1826 - ORGANICS RECYCLING**

California law requires businesses that generate 2 cubic yards or more of solid waste per week to recycle the organic portion of their waste. Organics include food scraps, food-soiled paper, landscape trimmings and nonhazardous wood waste. See panel on reverse side for more Multi-Family information.



#### **AB341 - RECYCLING**

The commercial sector generates nearly three fourths of the solid waste in California. Much of the commercial sector waste disposed in landfills is recycable. AB 341 requires all businesses that generate 4 cubic yards or more of solid waste per week to arrange for recycling services. See panel on reverse side for more Multi-Family information.



## **SB 1383**

SB 1383 establishes targets to achieve a 50 percent reduction in the level of the statewide disposal of organic waste from the 2014 level by 2020 and a 75 percent reduction by 2025. The law grants CalRecycle the regulatory authority required to achieve the organic waste disposal reduction targets and establishes an additional target that not less than 20 percent of currently disposed edible food is recovered for human consumption by 2025.SB 1383 will further support California's efforts to achieve the statewide 75 percent recycling goal by 2020 established in AB 341 and strengthen the implementation of mandatory commercial organics recycling established in AB 1826.

# YOLO COUNTY COMMERCIAL CART AND BIN OFFERINGS

#### CARTS

Trash (grey lid) and Recycling (blue lid) are offered in 96 gallon Organics (green lid) is offered in 35 and 64 gallons

#### **Cart Dimensions:**



#### BINS:

Recycling is offered in 1, 2, 3, 4, & 6 cubic yard bins Organics is offered in 1, 2, & 3 cubic yard bins

#### Bin Dimensions:



# For a full list of commercial rates, visit yolocounty.org [Click on the Landfill tab and then on the Commercial Recycling tab]

# IMPORTANT INFORMATION

#### OFFICE

Waste Management of Woodland 1324 Paddock Place Woodland, CA 95776

#### **HOURS OF OPERATION**

Monday – Friday 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. (530) 662-8748





# COMMERCIAL TRASH, RECYCLING & ORGANICS COLLECTION SERVICES

#### **SET OUT INSTRUCTIONS**

- Make sure bins are easily accessible and unlocked or you can provide a copy of key/ remote for driver at the local office.
- Set out carts and bins e curb on collection day by 5 a.m.
- Do not overfill your cart(s) and bins
- Lids must close



# **YOLO COUNTY RECYCLES**

For County Assistance with any additional waste related questions contact:



Yolo County's Waste Reduction Manager (530) 666-8813 iwm@yolocounty.org

- Contract
   Requirements;
- Disputes;
- California Regulations

#### Yolo County's Waste Reduction Coordinator (530) 666-8856 iwm@yolocounty.org

- Education and Outreach Materials;
- Landfill Tours;
- Blue Barn Information

## **RECYCLE RIGHT**

When you place the right materials in the right container, and do not overfill them, it benefits you and your community and protects the environment. Be sure to follow the guide on the reverse side to recycle right, and avoid contamination and overage charges.

**Contamination Charges**: After receiving 3 warning notices on your recycling cart within 12 months, an additional charge will occur to the customer.

**Overage Charges**: After receiving 3 warning notices, customer's cart will be upsized automatically. Customers may not request a reduction in service for a period of twelve (12) months.





(530) 662-8748 sacramentovalley.wm.com



## STATE OF CALIFORNIA MANDATES - MULTIFAMILY COMPLEXES



#### **AB1826 - ORGANICS RECYCLING**

California law requires businesses that generate 2 cubic yards or more of solid waste per week to recycle the organic portion of their waste. Multifamily complexes with 5 or more units are required to recycle only landscape waste.



#### **AB341 - RECYCLING**

The commercial sector generates nearly three fourths of the solid waste in California. Much of the commercial sector waste disposed in landfills is recycable. AB 341 requires all businesses that generate 4 cubic yards or more of solid waste per week to arrange for recycling services. Multifamily complexes with five or more units are also required to have a recycling program.



## **RESOURCES**

Yolo County offers free recycling bags to multifamily complexes to assist residents in sorting recyclables.

Additional recycling education is available, please call **(530) 666-8856** for more resources.

