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Definitions 
Excerpted from the Cal/OSHA “COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standards Frequently Asked 
Questions” https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html, the full approved text of the    
ETS, and California Department of Public Health’s (CDPH’s) “Employer Questions about AB 685, 
California’s New COVID-19 Law,” dated 10/16/2020  
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-  
685.aspx 

 
COVID-19: Coronavirus disease, caused by the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 
(SARS-CoV-2). 

 

COVID-19 case (or case): A person who: 
(1) Has a positive “COVID-19 test” (a viral test for SARS-CoV-2 that is approved by the FDA or has 

an Emergency Use Authorization [EUA] from the FDA to diagnose current infection with the 
SARS-CoV-2 virus, and administered in accordance with the FDA approval or EUA); 

(2) Is diagnosed with COVID-19 by a licensed health care provider; 
(3) Is subject to COVID-19-related order to isolate issued by a local or state health official; or 
(4) Has died due to COVID-19, in the determination of a local health department or per inclusion in 

the COVID-19 statistics of a county. 
 
COVID-19 contact (or contact):  Anyone who was within 6 feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative 
total of 15 minutes within any 24-hour period during the COVID-19 case’s “high risk exposure period.” 

 

COVID-19 exposure:  Being within six feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or 
greater in any 24-hour period within or overlapping with the “high-risk exposure period” defined by this 
section. This definition applies regardless of the use of face coverings. Consider work area(s) as well as 
where they eat lunch or take breaks. 

 

COVID-19 symptoms: Fever of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher, chills, cough, shortness of breath or 
difficulty breathing, fatigue, muscle or body aches, headache, new loss of taste or smell, sore throat, 
congestion or runny nose, nausea or vomiting, or diarrhea, unless a licensed health care professional 
determines the person’s symptoms were caused by a known condition other than COVID-19. 

 

Close contact:  Being within 6 feet of a COVID-19 case for a cumulative total of 15 minutes within any 
24-hour period during the COVID-19 case’s “high risk exposure period.” 

 
Exposed workplace: An exposed workplace is a work location, working area, or common area used or 
accessed by a COVID-19 case during the high-risk exposure period, including bathrooms, walkways, 
hallways, aisles, break or eating areas, and waiting areas. Exposed workplace does NOT include 
buildings or facilities not entered by a COVID-19 case. When determining which areas constitute a single 
“exposed workplace” for purposes of enforcing testing requirements, Cal/OSHA does not expect 
employers to treat areas where masked workers momentarily pass through the same space without 
interacting or congregating as an “exposed workplace,” so they may focus on locations where 
transmission is more likely. 

 

Exposure event: Term being used in CDPH/HHSA’s contact tracing management system for 
tracking investigations of exposures/outbreaks at specific locations; reflects time period infectious 
case(s) were at a specific location. Business will be given the Exposure Event number for their 
exposure/outbreak for reporting purposes. 
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High risk exposure period: 

• For COVID-19 cases who develop COVID-19 symptoms, from two days before they first develop 
symptoms until 10 days after symptoms first appeared, and 24 hours have passed with no fever, 
without the use of fever-reducing medications, and symptoms have improved. 

• For persons who test positive but never develop COVID-19 symptoms, from two days before until 
ten days after the specimen for their first positive test for COVID-19 was collected. 

 

Infectious period: See high risk exposure period 
 
Outbreak:  Three or more COVID-19 cases in an “exposed workplace” within a 14-day period. 

 
Return-to-work criteria for COVID-19 case: 

• For employees with symptoms all of these conditions must be met: 

1. At least 24 hours have passed since a fever of 100.4 or higher has resolved without the use 
of fever-reducing medications; 

2. COVID-19 symptoms have improved; and 
3. At least 10 days have passed since COVID-19 symptoms first appeared 

• For employees without symptoms, at least 10 days have passed since the COVID-19 case’s first 
positive test 

• If a licensed health care professional determines the person is not/is no longer a COVID-19 case, 
in accordance with California Department of Public Health (CDPH) or HHSA recommendations 

 
Return-to-work criteria for COVID-19 contact (employee exposed to COVID-19 case): 
Employees with COVID-19 exposure may return to the workplace 10 days after the last known COVID- 
19 exposure.  A negative test is not required to return to work. 
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COVID-19 Business Reporting Requirements (AB 685, California Department of Public Health 
[CDPH] and Yolo County Health and Human Services Agency (HHSA)) 

 
Modified from California Department of Public Health’s “Employer Questions about AB 685, California’s New 
COVID-19  Law,”  dated  10/16/2020  https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID -  
19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx 

 

What public health agency do I report COVID-19 outbreaks to in Yolo County? 

• Yolo County employers must report COVID-19 outbreaks to the Yolo County Health and 
Human Services Agency – Community Health Branch). 

 

When am I required to report COVID-19 cases to HHSA? 

• Under California Department of Public Health ("Responding to COVID-19 in the Workplace for  
Employers”)  and Cal/OSHA standards, you must report COVID-19 outbreaks in Yolo County to 
HHSA. For non-healthcare workplaces, this is defined as 3 or more COVID-19 cases among 
workers at the same worksite within a 14-day period. 

• Once this threshold is met, you have 48 hours to report to HHSA if the worksite is located in 
Yolo County. 

• You also must continue to notify HHSA of additional COVID-19 cases identified among workers at 
the worksite. 

• All public and private employers in California must follow the AB 685 reporting requirements except 
health facilities (as defined in Health & Safety Code section 1250) and employers of workers who 
provide direct care or testing to individuals with suspected or confirmed COVID-19. 

 
What information should I report to the local health department? 
1. Information about the worksite – name of company/institution, business address, and North 

American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry code (if not known, please 
indicate type of business i.e. restaurant, manufacturing, office, retail). 

2. Names and occupations of workers with COVID-19. 
3. Additional information requested by the local health department as part of their investigation. 

For Yolo County, this additional information includes: 

Information to assist with case and contact investigation both within the workplace and for the 
household and community: 

• Dates of birth, addresses and phone numbers of workers with COVID-19 (“cases”) 

• Symptom and testing information, as available 

• Dates and locations worked while infectious 

• Name, dates of birth, addresses, and phone numbers of workers who were close contacts to the 
cases and date last exposed 

Information to assist with determination of existence of outbreak at worksite and need for additional 
public health recommendations 

• Affected areas (e.g., departments, rooms, floors, etc.) 

• Number of cases in each affected area 

• Total number of employees in each affected area 

• Total number of employees at worksite 

 

How do I report COVID-19 cases and outbreaks to HHSA? 

• Reporting business cases and outbreaks to HHSA is a two-step process. The report is not 
considered complete until both steps are done: 
o Step 1:  Complete and submit the SPOT Intake Form. Do NOT include personally 

identifiable information (PII) or health information unless the email is secured. 
o Step 2: Enter worker case and close contact information in the secure Shared Portal for 

Outbreak Tracking (SPOT). You will receive an email/link upon completion of Step 1.  

• See pages 7-15 of this guide for more details. 

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx
https://bit.ly/2RRouga
https://bit.ly/2RRouga
https://bit.ly/2RRouga
https://casetext.com/statute/california-codes/health-and-safety-code-hsc/division-2-licensing-provisions-1200-17978/chapter-2-health-facilities-1250-133959
https://cdph.force.com/SPOT/s/IntakeForm
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Other Required COVID-19 Response Actions for Businesses 

 

• AB 685 requires employers to notify employees (and their authorized representatives) who 
may have been exposed to COVID-19 within one business day.  For details of what information 
must be provided, how and when, see California Department of Public Health’s “Employer 
Questions about AB 685, California’s New COVID-19 Law,” dated 10/16/2020  
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-  AB-
685.aspx, or the AB 685 bill text. 

• The Cal/OSHA COVID-19 emergency temporary standard (ETS) requires that an employer 
develop a written COVID-19 Prevention Program or ensure its elements are included in an 
existing Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP).  For full details, see the Cal/OSHA “COVID- 
19 Emergency Temporary Standards Frequently Asked Questions”  
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html, or the full approved text of the ETS. 
Some key requirements include: 
o Employers must investigate and respond to a COVID-19 case by: 

▪ Excluding from the workplace employees who test positive for COVID-19 
▪ Determining when the COVID-19 case was last in the workplace, and if possible the date of 

testing and onset of symptoms 
▪ Determining which employees may have been exposed to COVID-19 and excluding those with 

close contact 
▪ Offering testing to potentially exposed employees at no cost and during working hours. 
▪ Following return-to-work criteria for cases and contacts. 
▪ See ETS for additional requirements. 

o In addition, during an outbreak (three or more COVID-19 cases in an “exposed workplace” 
within a 14-day period or identified as an outbreak by a local health department), employers 
must: 
▪ Immediately provide testing to all employees in the exposed workplace and exclude positive 

cases and exposures from work; repeat the testing one week later (no earlier than 7 Days); 
and 

▪ Continue testing employees at least weekly until the workplace no longer qualifies as an 
outbreak. 

o In addition, in a major outbreak (20 or more COVID-19 cases in an “exposed workplace” within a 
30-day period), employers must: 

▪ Provide testing to all employees in the exposed workplace at least twice weekly and exclude 
positive cases and exposures until there are no new cases detected for a 14-day period; 

▪ Implement ventilation changes to mechanical ventilation systems including increasing filtration 
efficiency to at least MERV-13, or the highest efficiency compatible with the ventilation system. 

▪ Evaluate whether HEPA air filtration units are needed in poorly ventilated areas; 
▪ Determine the need for a respiratory protection program or changes to an existing respiratory 

protection program under section 5144 to address COVID-19 hazards; and 
▪ Consider halting all or part of operations to control the virus. 

• Personal identifying information of COVID-19 cases or person with COVID-19 symptoms shall 
be kept confidential (with the exception that unredacted information on COVID-19 cases will 
be provided to the local health department. 
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Business Reporting SPOT Intake Form (Step 1) 
 

Instructions to Business: 

Reporting outbreaks to the Yolo County Health and Human Services Agency (HHSA) to fulfill the Cal/OSHA, AB 685, 
and California Department of Public Health (CDPH) requirements to report to local health departments is a two-
step process. The report is not considered complete until both steps are done. Note, this process may be used 
for reporting individual cases, however a new form should NOT be sent for each case once the location account is 
set up. 

1.   Complete the SPOT Intake Form and submit all required information. The form will be reviewed by 
Yolo County HHSA’s Outbreak team for review. Do NOT include any case (employee) names or personal 
confidential information on this form. Once the SPOT Intake Form is received, our Outbreak team will 
assign an Exposure Event number associated with your outbreak upon review. Your facility's designated 
Workplace Liaison (see below) will then receive an email from SPOT (Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking) 
calconnect_donotreply@cdph.ca.gov with instructions on how to login to the account for your business 
location and enter the information about the workers with COVID-19 and their contacts into the SPOT, a 
secure portal for reporting outbreaks/COVID cases) that we are using in conjunction with CDPH.  

2.  Enter the worker case and close contact information associated with this outbreak into SPOT. If 
additional cases associated with this outbreak occur later, you should enter this information directly into 
SPOT and should not resend the SPOT Intake Form unless reporting a new outbreak, worksite or 
location. 

HHSA staff may call you to obtain additional information or provide public health recommendations for 
management of the outbreak. Please complete all the fields in the SPOT Intake Form. Instructions to complete 
are found below in Business Reporting (STEP 1) Instructions. Please also review the SPOT Instructions Business 
Reporting (STEP 2) to minimize later requests for additional information. For more information about reporting 
business outbreaks, AB 685, and how to use SPOT, contact YoloCOVIDReporting@yolocounty.org. 

 

To complete the SPOT Intake Form, open the link below and complete and submit.  

https://cdph.force.com/SPOT/s/IntakeForm 

 

 
Back to Table of Contents 

 

 

(01.18.2021) 7

mailto:YoloCOVIDReporting@yolocounty.org
https://cdph.force.com/SPOT/s/IntakeForm


 

Business Reporting SPOT Intake Form (Step 1) Instructions 
Version 01.22.2021 

The SPOT Intake Form is available online for businesses reporting a COVID-19 outbreak (or individual case) to Yolo County 
Health and Human Services COVID Response. Reporting is not considered complete until the Intake Form is submitted AND 
the employee case (and contact) information is entered into the secure Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking (SPOT). Any 
personally identifiable information (PII) or health information should be entered into SPOT directly or, if asking a 
question, sent by secure email. 
 
Fields to be entered in the SPOT Intake Form 
Key Point of Contact  
(this information will let the county know who to register as a liaison in the SPOT portal) 

• First Name 

• Last Name 

• Email 

• Phone Number 

• Title/Role 
Additional Point of Contact 
This there is someone other than the person mentions above with whom we may contact about the exposure. Enter their 
information in this section.  

• First Name 

• Last Name 

• Email 

• Phone Number 

• Title/Role 
Location of the Exposure 
Name and address of the business facility or site where the exposure took place.  

• Location Name 

• Location Type 

• Address 

• Street 

• City 

• Zip/Postal Code 

• State 
Main Business Information 
Details on the main business location is it is different than the above.  

• Location Name 

• Location Type 

• Address 

• Street 

• City 

• Zip/Postal Code 

• State 
Exposure Information 
Enter the information about the exposure you are reporting.  

• Start Date of Exposure 

• Specific Place in the Location 

• Number of COVID-19 Positive Cases 

• Number of Close Contacts 

• Total Number of People at the Location 

• NAICS Code of the Workplace 

• Reason for Report 

• Reason for Report – Other 

• Notes 
 

For any questions on how to complete the SPOT Intake Form, please contact the COVID Response team at 

YoloCOVIDReporting@yolocounty.org or call the Yolo County COVID Provider Line: (530) 666-8614 Monday-Friday 8:00 

a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
 

Back to Table of Contents 
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Business Reporting (Step 2) 

Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking (SPOT) Instructions 

1. See Business Reporting (Step 1) prior to proceeding with these Step 2 instructions. Be sure to indicate the 

person designated to enter info into SPOT as the Workplace (SPOT) Liaison. 

2. After submitting the SPOT Intake Form online using the weblink, the SPOT Liaison will receive a confirmation reply with 

the Exposure Event number associated with your worksite outbreak/exposure. 

3. If it is your first report for this location, you (the designated Workplace Liaison for SPOT) will also receive the SPOT User 

Guide and a link to a brief training video. 

• Review the SPOT User Guide, SPOT Data Collection Fields, and SPOT Demo for Workplace Liaisons Video 

prior to using SPOT for the first time. 

• You will also receive an email from SPOT (calconnect_donotreply@cdph.ca.gov) with instructions on how to set up 

your new Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking (SPOT) account. Remember, only one user account can be created 

per location. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
4. Login to SPOT and View Open Exposure Events for your location. See SPOT User Guide for step-by-step details. 

SPOT works best using a Chrome browser. 

5. Enter Information for an Existing Exposure: Enter information about workers who are cases as COVID-19 Cases and 

information about their close contacts as COVID-19 Contacts. See SPOT Data Collection Fields for a list of information 

that will be requested. Please be sure to complete the requested KEY fields below in SPOT to minimize later 

requests for information from our investigators. 

Important things to remember 

• Select the Exposure Event number provided to you for this specific exposure/outbreak 

• Key fields to complete (in addition to required First Name, Last Name, Phone Number, Occupation/Job Title) 

• Date of Birth 

• Home Address 

• Last Date Employee Was at Work site 

• Was case infectious while on site? 

• Work Area/Department 

• Work Shifts 

• Symptom onset date 

• Dates at workplace while infectious fields including Specific Place in Location (area where case was while 

infectious) and Potential Number of People Exposed 

• Test Date and Test Result 

6. Export Data you have entered for your own records, if desired. The line list exports as a csv file. 
7. Reporting is complete once the SPOT Intake Form is submitted and all cases and close contacts have been entered in 

SPOT. An HHSA investigator may contact you for more information or to provide additional public health 
recommendations to assist in managing the outbreak at your site. 

8. If additional cases occur related to this worksite outbreak, you may enter them directly into SPOT using the same 
exposure event number. Please do NOT submit a new form each time. 

9. If a new outbreak occurs at this location over 1 month after this one is over, you will need to submit a new SPOT Intake 
Form to get the new Exposure Event number prior to entering the cases and contacts. 

10. If a new outbreak occurs at a different worksite location, you will need to submit a new SPOT Intake Form get the new 
Exposure Event number prior to entering the cases and contacts. 

For any questions on how to complete the SPOT Intake Form, please email YoloCOVIDReporting@yolocounty.org or call 

the Yolo County COVID Provider Line: (530) 666-8614 Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

Back to Table of Contents 
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Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking (SPOT) – User Guide 

Please contact your local health department with any additional questions. 
 

Overview: This Reference Guide explains how to use the Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking (SPOT). 

This guide is organized by the menu options in SPOT: 

1. View Open Exposure Events 

2. Enter Information for an Existing Exposure 

3. Export Data 

 
 

View Open Exposure Events 

In this section, you can view all open Exposure Events in your workplace. You will need to know the 

Exposure Event Record # in order to enter information in SPOT about individuals who were involved in 

a COVID-19 exposure at your workplace. 
 

Step Action Sc reenshot  

1 Navigate to this section by clicking 

the View Open Exposure Events 

button on the home page or the link at 

the top of any page. 

   

2 On this page, you will see open 

Exposure Events in your workplace. 

   

3 To view more details about a specific 

Exposure Event, click the number in 

the Exposure Event Record # column. 

   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Back to Table of Contents 
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Enter Information for an Existing Exposure 

In this section, you can complete a form with key information about individuals who were involved in a 

COVID-19 exposure at your workplace. You can also view all information you have entered in SPOT. 
 

Step Action Sc reenshot  

1 Navigate to this section by clicking the 

Enter Information for an Existing 

Exposure button on the home page or 

the link at the top of any page. 

   

2 On this page, you will see a list of all 

information you have entered in SPOT. 

   

     

3 To enter in new information about an 

individual involved in an exposure at 

your workplace, select the New button 

on the right-hand side of the page. 

 
 

 

 

4 Select the radio button according to 

whether the individual is a COVID-19 

case (someone who has tested 

positive for COVID-19), or a COVID-19 

contact (someone who has come in 

close contact with a COVID-19 case). 

 
Note that the information collected for 

Cases and Contacts will be slightly 

different. Click Next. 
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5 Enter information about the individual 

on the form 
 

❖ Required fields are marked with 

a red asterisk 
❖ In the Exposure Event field, 

enter the Exposure Event 
Record # provided to you by 

the local health department, or 

select it from the menu that 

opens. 

 
 

 

 

6 If you have more individuals you 

would like to enter, click Save & New 

to open a new form. If you are 

finished, click Save. 

   

7 After clicking Save, you will see a 

summary view of the last form you 

completed. 

 
Click Enter Information for an 

Existing Exposure to return to the list 

of all information you have entered in 

SPOT. 
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Export Data 

In this section, you can download a file containing all information you have entered in SPOT. 
 

Step Action Screenshot  

1 Navigate to this section by clicking 

the Export Data button on the home 

page or the link at the top of any 

page. 

 

 

 

2 Click the button on this page to 

download a local copy of all 

information you have entered in 

SPOT. 

 
The file will download in CSV format. 
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Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking: Data Collection Fields 
 

COVID-19 Case 

Personal Information 

(modified in blue for Yolo County, 1/22/2021) 

o Exposure Event * (select Exposure Event number provided to you by email from your assigned investigator) 

o First Name * 

o Middle Name 

o Last Name * 

o Birthdate ** 

o Language 

o Email 

o Mobile Phone * (mobile phone preferred, if not available,, you may enter home phone here since required 

field) 

o Home Phone 

o Resident County / LHJ ** (at minimum, so we can have appropriate LHJ follow-up) 

o Home Street Address ** 

o City ** 

o State 

o Zip 

o Hispanic 

o Gender 

o Race 

Workplace Information 

o Occupation/Job Title * 

(**Preferred) 

o Last Date Employee Was at Worksite ** 

o Employer Name 

o Supervisor Name & Phone Number 

o Supervisor Email Address 

o Date entity notified of positive test 

o Was case infectious while on site? ** 

o Work Area/Department ** 

o Work Shifts ** 

Symptom Information 

o Ever Symptomatic 

o Symptom Onset Date ** 

o Notes (include other known potential sources infection, e.g. positive household member or relative) 

     
 
    
 
        Back to Table of Contents 
 

Infectious Period: 

Cases are infectious from two days before 

they first develop symptoms until 10 days 

after symptoms first appeared, 24 hours have 

passed with no fever (without the use of 

fever-reducing medications), and symptoms 

have improved. For persons who test positive 

but never develop COVID-19 symptoms, they 

are infectious from two days before until ten 

days after the specimen for their first positive 

test for COVID-19 was collected. This is the 

same as what Cal/OSHA defines as the “high 

risk exposure period.” See: 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/C  

OVID19FAQs.html 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html
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Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking: Data Collection Fields 
 

Dates at Workplace While Infectious 

o Start Date/Time (1/5) 

o End Date/Time (1/5) 

o Specific Place in the Location (1/5) **  “exposed workplace” 

o Potential Number of People Exposed (1/5) ** number of people in that exposed workplace 

o Start Date/Time (2/5) 

o End Date/Time (2/5) 

o Specific Place in the Location (2/5) 

o Potential Number of People Exposed (2/5) 

o Start Date/Time (3/5) 

o End Date/Time (3/5) 

o Specific Place in the Location (3/5) 

o Potential Number of People Exposed (3/5) 

o Start Date/Time (4/5) 

o End Date/Time (4/5) 

o Specific Place in the Location (4/5) 

o Potential Number of People Exposed (4/5) 

o Start Date/Time (5/5) 

o End Date/Time (5/5) 

o Specific Place in the Location (5/5) 

o Potential Number of People Exposed (5/5) 

Lab Results (if known) 

o Test Date ** 

o Specimen Source 

o Specimen Source - Other 

o Test Type 

o Test Type - Other 

o Test Result ** 

o Test Result - Other 

o Test Location 
 

 

 

 

 
    Back to Table of Contents 

*Required fields 

**Fields requested to be completed by Yolo County businesses to 

minimize later requests for additional information by our 

investigators 

Exposed Workplace: 

Work location, working area, or common 

area used or accessed by a COVID-19 case 

while infectious  

  

 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/C 

OVID19FAQs.html 

 

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html
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Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking: Data Collection Fields 
 

COVID-19 Contact  (if Tested Positive, enter as COVID-19 Case) 

Personal Information 

o Exposure Event * (select Exposure Event number provided to you by email from your assigned investigator) 

o First Name * 

o Middle Name 

o Last Name * 

o Birthdate ** 

o Language 

o Email 

o Mobile Phone * (if no mobile phone, you may enter home phone here since required field) 

o Home Phone 

o Resident County / LHJ ** (at minimum, so we can have appropriate LHJ follow-up) 

o Home Street Address ** 

o City ** 

o State 

o Zip 

o Hispanic 

o Gender 

o Race 

Workplace Information 

o Occupation/Job Title * 

(** preferred) 

o Last Date Employee Was at Worksite ** 

o Employer Name 

o Supervisor Name & Phone Number 

o Supervisor Email Address 

o Work Area/Department ** 

o Work Shifts ** 

Exposure Information 

o Ever Symptomatic 

o Symptom Onset Date 

o Last Exposure Date * last date contact was in area with case while case was infectious 

o Notes 

 

 
   Back to Table of Contents 

*Required fields 

**Fields requested to be completed by Yolo County businesses to minimize 

later requests for additional information by our investigators 
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Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking: Data Collection Fields 
 

Lab Results (if known) 

o Test Date 

o Specimen Source 

o Specimen Source - Other 

o Test Type 

o Test Type - Other 

o Test Result 

o Test Result - Other 

o Test Location 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

     Back to Table of Contents 

*Required fields 

**Fields requested to be completed by Yolo County businesses to 

minimize later requests for additional information by our 

investigators 
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Resources 
Information, guidance, templates and resources are subject to change. Please refer to referenced 

websites and portals for current information. 
 
Business COVID-19 Requirements 

AB 685: 

• AB 685 bill text 

• California Department of Public Health’s “Employer Questions about AB 685, California’s 
New COVID-19 Law,” dated 10/16/2020  
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-  
AB-685.aspx 

 

California Department of Public Health (CDPH): 

• Responding to COVID-19 in the Workplace for Employers 
 

Cal/OSHA: 

• “COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standards Frequently Asked Questions”  
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html 

• Full approved text of the Emergency Temporary Standards 
 

Yolo County Business Toolkits: https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-
departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-
coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit 

 

• COVID-19 Outbreak Reporting Process for Businesses (this document) 

• Reporting Forms and Instructions 

o Business COVID-19 Outbreak/Case Reporting Form (Step 1) 
o Business COVID-19 Outbreak/Case Reporting Form (Step 1) Instructions 
o Business COVID-19 Outbreak/Case Reporting (Step 2) – Shared Portal for Outbreak 

Tracking (SPOT) Instructions 
▪ Shared Portal (SPOT) User Guide 
▪ SPOT Demo for Workplace Liaisons Video 
▪ SPOT Data Collection Fields – Yolo County 
▪ SPOT Overview 

 
General COVID-19 Guidance 

CDPH: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/Guidance.aspx 

• Industry guidance to reduce risk:  https://covid19.ca.gov/industry-guidance/ 

• Employer Playbook for a Safe Reopening 

• Blueprint for a Safer Economy 
 

Centers for Disease Control – Workplaces and Businesses: 

• https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/workplaces-businesses/index.html 
 

• Yolo County COVID Main Page: 
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-
departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-
investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/roadmap-to-
recovery 

 

• Downloadable COVID Toolkits and other Resources: 

o Businesses: https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-

departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-

investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB685
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/COVID-19/Employer-Questions-about-AB-685.aspx
https://bit.ly/2RRouga
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dosh/coronavirus/COVID19FAQs.html
https://www.dir.ca.gov/OSHSB/documents/COVID-19-Prevention-Emergency-apprvdtxt.pdf
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73X-RNa2cKs&amp;feature=youtu.be
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/Pages/Guidance.aspx
https://covid19.ca.gov/industry-guidance/
https://files.covid19.ca.gov/pdf/employer-playbook-for-safe-reopening--en.pdf
https://covid19.ca.gov/safer-economy
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/workplaces-businesses/index.html
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/roadmap-to-recovery
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/roadmap-to-recovery
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/roadmap-to-recovery
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/roadmap-to-recovery
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/covid-19-business-toolkit
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o Symptoms, Quarantine, and others:  https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-

government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-

investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-documents 

 

• Other Resources for Businesses & Worksites:  

o Template notification letters (included here in this guide) 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

Back to Table of Contents 
 

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-documents
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-documents
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-documents
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BUSINESS NAME/LOGO 
 
 

 
[DATE] 

 
Dear Employee: 

 
 

Use this template to notify 
employees who have been 

identified as CLOSE 
CONTACTS to a COVID-19 

Case 

 

You have been identified as a close contact to a person with novel coronavirus 
(COVID-19) who was present at [Facility] on [DATE]. As a close contact, you 
are at increased risk of becoming infected with COVID-19 and should take 
measures to monitor yourself for illness and protect those around you from 
becoming infected. 
Starting right away, you should do the following: 

 

• Stay home (quarantine) until 10 days after last exposure, through [DATE+10 
days = End of QUARANTINE]. 

• For 14 days after last exposure, through [DATE+14 days]: 

o Maintain social distance (at least 6 feet) from others, to the extent possible, 
at all times. 

o Wear a cloth face covering at all times when within 6 feet of others. 
o Self-monitor for symptoms: 

• Check temperature twice a day 

• Watch for fever, cough, shortness of breath, and other signs/symptoms 
of COVID-19, such as chills, sore throat, muscle aches, diarrhea, or loss 
of sense of taste or smell. Additional symptoms may occur; see the 
attached “COVID-19: Know the Symptoms Flyer” for more information. 

o If any of these symptoms develop, stay home and call your health 
care provider for advice and to arrange testing (see  
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-
government-departments/health-human-
services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-
control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing 
 

o Avoid contact with people at higher risk for severe illness from COVID-19. 

• Notify your supervisor at your workplace should you become ill or test 
positive as we are monitoring illness from this exposure. 

 
For more information, see the attached flyer on Isolation and Quarantine, or visit  

https://www.yolocounty.org/Home/ShowDocument?id=65308 

 For questions or concerns about this notice, please contact your facility’s 

administrator: [NAME/NUMBER]. 

 
 

BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE NAME 
TITLE 

 
 
 

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/people-at-higher-risk.html
https://www.yolocounty.org/Home/ShowDocument?id=65308


 

BUSINESS NAME/LOGO 

 
[DATE] 

 
 
Estimado empleado: 

 
 

Use this template to notify 
employees who have been 

identified as CLOSE 
CONTACTS to a COVID-19 

Case 

 

Usted ha sido identificado que tuvo contacto cercano con una persona positiva con el 

nuevo coronavirus (COVID-19) que estuvo presente en [Facility] en [DATE]. Como 

contacto cercano, usted tiene un mayor riesgo de infectarse con COVID-19 y debe tomar 

medidas para monitorear su enfermedad y proteger a quienes lo rodean para que no se 

infecten. Comenzando de inmediato, debe hacer lo siguiente: 

• Manténgase en casa (cuarentena) hasta 10 días después de la última exposición, 
hasta el [DATE+10 days=End of QUARANTINE].  

• Por 14 días después de tener contacto con una persona infectada hasta [DATE   

+14 days]: 

o Mantenga la distancia social (por lo menos 6 pies) de los demás en todo 
momento. 

o Deben usar un cubre boca en todo momento y mantener la distancia de 6 pies 

o Monitoree los síntomas: 

• Tómele la temperatura dos veces al día 

• Monitoree por fiebre, tos, dificultad para respirar y otros signos / síntomas 
de COVID-19, como escalofríos, dolor de garganta, dolores musculares, 
diarrea o pérdida del sentido del gusto u olfato. Pueden ocurrir síntomas 
adicionales; consulte el Folleto adjunto COVID-19: “Conozca los síntomas” 
para obtener más información. 

o Si desarrolla alguno de estos síntomas, quédese en casa y llame a su 
médico para que le aconseje y programe la prueba. (Visite:  
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-
departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-
disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-
2019/coronavirus-testing.) 

o Mantengase alejado de personas con mayor riesgo de enfermedades    
graves del COVID-19. 

• Notifique a su supervisor del trabajo, si se enferma o es positivo/a de COVID-19 
porque estamos monitoreando los contagios por esta exposición. 

Para obtener más información, consulte el folleto adjunto sobre cuarentena o visite  

https://www.yolocounty.org/Home/ShowDocument?id=65308. Si tiene preguntas o 

preocupaciones sobre este aviso, comuníquese con el administrador al 
[NAME/NUMBER]. 

 
 

BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE NAME 
TITLE 

 
 
 
 

 

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://espanol.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/index.html
https://espanol.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/index.html
https://espanol.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/index.html
https://espanol.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/need-extra-precautions/index.html
https://www.yolocounty.org/Home/ShowDocument?id=65308
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Notification Letter_General Employee_Eng/Spa  

Use this template as needed to notify employees that may have been exposed at 
the workplace but who are NOT close contacts to a COVID- 19 Case 

 

BUSINESS NAME/LOGO 
 

 

[DATE] 
 
Dear Employee: 
 

This letter is to inform you that a person with novel coronavirus (COVID-19) was present 

at [FACILITY] on [DATE]. The risk of developing coronavirus infection from this exposure 

is low, but you should monitor yourself for symptoms of infection for 14 days after this 

exposure, through [DATE+14 days]. Signs and symptoms may include fever, chills, 

cough, shortness of breath, sore throat, fatigue, muscle aches, headache, diarrhea or 

loss of sense of taste or smell.  

 
You do not need to be quarantined or do anything differently, but if you become feverish 

or develop any of the above symptoms, you should stay home and call your healthcare 

provider for advice, and arrange to get tested for COVID-19. See testing locations: 

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-

departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-

and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing.) 

If you need medical care, call the health care provider first so that appropriate 

precautions can be taken. Please also let [FACILITY] know should you become ill as we 

are monitoring the illnesses from this exposure. 

 
As a reminder, all Yolo County residents, unless exempt due to age or underlying 

health conditions, should be wearing a cloth face-covering while out in public and within 

6 feet of others. Additionally, all residents should maintain at least 6 feet physical 

distance from others not in their household, not gather in groups, avoid mass 

gatherings, and wash their hands frequently to decrease the risk of transmission of 

COVID-19. 

 
For more information, please see our website at: 

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-

departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-

investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019 
For questions or concerns about this notice, please contact your facility’s administrator: 

[NAME/ NUMBER]. 

BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE NAME TITLE 
  

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019
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Notification Letter_General Employee_Eng/Spa  

 

BUSINESS NAME/LOGO 

[DATE] 
 
Estimado empleado: 

Use this template as needed to notify 
employees that may have been 

exposed at the workplace but who 
are NOT close contacts to a COVID- 

19 Case 

Esta carta es para informarles que una persona con el nuevo coronavirus (COVID- 

19) estuvo presente en [FACILITY] entre las fechas [DATE]. El riesgo de desarrollar 

una infección por coronavirus debido a esta exposición es bajo. Pero deben 

monitorearse para detectar síntomas de la infección durante 14 días después de 

esta exposición, hasta [DATE+14 days]. Los síntomas pueden incluir fiebre, 

escalofrió, tos, dificultad para respirar, garganta irritada, fatiga, dolor muscular, dolor 

de cabeza, diarrea, perdida del gusto o del olfato.  

 
No necesitan estar en cuarentena ni hacer nada diferente, pero si tiene fiebre o 

desarrolla alguno de los síntomas anteriormente mencionados, deben quedarse en 

casa y llamar a su doctor para ser asesorados y hacerse la prueba de COVID-19. 

Lugares a donde puede ir a hacer la prueba:  

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-

departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-

investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing.). Si 

necesitan atención médica, llamen primero a su médico para que puedan tomar las 

precauciones necesarias. Por favor informe a [FACILITY] si están enfermos ya que 

estamos monitoreando los contagios de esta exposición. 

 
Recordatorio: Todos los residentes del Condado de Yolo, a menos que este exento 

debido a la edad o por condiciones de salud deben usar cubre bocas mientras se 

encuentre en un lugar público y no menos de 6 pies de distancia de los demás. 

Además todos los residentes deben mantener una distancia física de por lo menos 

6 pies de otras personas que vivan en su hogar, no reunirse en grupos, evite 

reuniones masivas, lávese las manos con frecuencia para disminuir el riesgo de 

transmisión de COVID-19. 

 
Para obtener más información, consulten nuestro sitio web en  

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-
departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-
investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019 

. Si tiene preguntas o precupaciones acerca de este aviso comuníquese con el 
administrador [NAME/ NUMBER]. 

 
 
BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE NAME 
TITLE 

https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019/coronavirus-testing
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019
https://www.yolocounty.org/government/general-government-departments/health-human-services/adults/communicable-disease-investigation-and-control/novel-coronavirus-2019
https://www.ochealthinfo.com/%20%20Si%20tiene%20preguntas%20o%20inquietudes%20sobre%20este%20aviso%20comun%C3%83%C2%ADquese%20con%20el%20administrador%20%20%5bFACILITY%5d
https://www.ochealthinfo.com/%20%20Si%20tiene%20preguntas%20o%20inquietudes%20sobre%20este%20aviso%20comun%C3%83%C2%ADquese%20con%20el%20administrador%20%20%5bFACILITY%5d
https://www.ochealthinfo.com/%20%20Si%20tiene%20preguntas%20o%20inquietudes%20sobre%20este%20aviso%20comun%C3%83%C2%ADquese%20con%20el%20administrador%20%20%5bFACILITY%5d
https://www.ochealthinfo.com/%20%20Si%20tiene%20preguntas%20o%20inquietudes%20sobre%20este%20aviso%20comun%C3%83%C2%ADquese%20con%20el%20administrador%20%20%5bFACILITY%5d
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