Yolo County Climate Action Commission

Purpose: The Yolo County Climate Action Commission will assist Yolo County in addressing climate change crisis requiring urgent and immediate mobilization of public and private resources to develop and implement a climate and sustainability plan that identifies and integrates current and future actions needed to achieve a just economic recovery and transition to a countywide carbon-negative (climate-positive) footprint by 2030.

Authority: Yolo County Board of Supervisors, Minute Order No. 21-62

Related County Department: Yolo County Department of Community Services

Staff Liaison: Telephone: Email:

530-666-8047 Kristen Wraithwall Kristen.Wraithwall@yolocounty.gov

Makeup of membership: 11 Members

Category A: Five Supervisorial District Representatives - Board Appointed

Category B: Two At-large Members Appointed by Supervisorial District Representatives

Category C: One Technical Lead (Climate Scientist/Subject Matter Experts) - Board Appointed with staff recommendation

Category D: Two Climate Scientist/Subject Matter – Appointed by Supervisorial District Representatives

Category E: One Environmental Justice Lead – Board Appointed with staff recommendation

The eleven-member voting commission will be supported by the Board Subcommittee on Climate, who would serve as non-voting liaisons between the commission and the remaining County Board of Supervisors. Additionally, one Ex- Officio non-voting member representative from the University of California, Davis would serve on the Commission. Upon implementation, there may be additional Ex-Officio members designated by the Board of Supervisors upon request by staff or the YCCAC.

Membership terms: Advisory body members will serve for two-year terms with opportunities for

renewal or replacement.

Frequency and time of meetings: Meets the fourth Monday of the month at 4:00 pm. For location

and times please contact the Sustainability@yolocounty.org

Current Committee membership and terms:

<u>Member</u>	District	Category	Date Appointed	Expiration of Term
Suzanne Reed	District 1 (Board Appt'd)	Category A	7/11/2023	7/11/2025
Robin Datel	District 2 (Board Appt'd)	Category A	7/11/2023	7/11/2025
Mark Aulman	District 3 (Board Appt'd)	Category A	7/25/2023	7/25/2025
Andrew Truman Kim	District 4 (Board Appt'd)	Category A	5/23/2023	5/23/2025
Adelita Serena	District 5 (Board Appt'd)	Category A	7/11/2023	7/11/2025
Mica Bennett	(Committee Appt'd)	Category B	1/31/2022	1/31/2024
Ken Britten	(Committee Appt'd)	Category B	1/31/2022	1/31/2024
Chris White	Board Appt'd	Category C	8/29/2023	8/29/2025
Bernadette Austin	(Committee Appt'd)	Category D	11/1/2021	11/21/2023
Pelayo Alvarez	(Committee Appt'd)	Category D	11/1/2021	11/21/2023

	NJ Mvondo	(Board Appt'd)	Category E	8/29/2023	8/29/2025
	<u>Liaisons</u>				
	Lucas Frerichs	District 2 Supervisor	Board Subcommittee on Climate Member		
	Jim Provenza	District 4 Supervisor	Board Subcommittee on Climate Member		
	Ex-Officio Members				
	Sarah Morgan	Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation		9/7/2021	
	Camille Kirk	University of California, Davis		8/18/2022	

How to apply to be a member of this committee:

Individuals interested in serving on this advisory body may submit an application to the Yolo County Board of Supervisors Office, 625 Court Street, Woodland, CA 95695 or by submitting an application on the Yolo County website at www.yolocounty.gov Government Advisory Bodies. For more information please call the Clerk of the Board at (530) 666-8195.

Last updated:

8/29/23