

MINUTES Special Community Corrections Partnership Meeting

Monday, July 12, 2021

The Community Corrections Partnership met on the 12th day of July, 2021, via <u>teleconference</u> at 1:30 p.m. pursuant to the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 (March 17, 2020), available at the following <u>link</u>.

CCP Executive Board Members Present: Will Oneto representing Chief Probation Officer Dan Fruchtenicht, Undersheriff Dale Johnson, Deputy District Attorney Jonathan Raven (joined late), Public Defender Tracie Olson, HHSA Director Karen Larsen, Winters Police Chief John Miller and Rocio Vega representing the Courts.

Full CCP Board Members Present: Will Oneto representing Chief Probation Officer Dan Fruchtenicht, Undersheriff Dale Johnson, Deputy District Attorney Jonathan Raven (joined late), Public Defender Tracie Olson, HHSA Director Karen Larsen, Winters Police Chief John Miller, Supervisor Don Saylor, HHSA Ian Evans, CBO Rep Marc Nigel, Rocio Vega representing the Courts and Supervisor Jim Provenza (Alternate).

Full CCP Board Members Absent: Superintendent of Schools Garth Lewis and Victim Representative Laura Valdes.

Staff Present: Phil Pogledich, Eric Will, Daniel Kim, Chad Rinde and Clerk Lupita Ramirez.

1) Call to Order (Oneto)

Roll call of the Full CCP Board was conducted by the Clerk.

Minute Order No. 21-18: Approved agenda as submitted.

MOVED BY: Larsen / SECONDED BY: Miller AYES: Evans, Johnson, Larsen, Miller, Nigel, Olson, Oneto, Raven, Saylor, Vega. NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Lewis, Valdes.

3) **CCP Action Item:** Consider approval of June 14, 2021 meeting minutes (Oneto) (Attachment A)

Minute Order No. 21-19: Approved the June 14, 2021 meeting minutes as submitted.

MOVED BY: Miller / SECONDED BY: Johnson AYES: Evans, Johnson, Larsen, Miller, Nigel, Olson, Oneto, Raven, Saylor, Vega. NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Lewis, Valdes.

4) Public Comment: Opportunity for members of the public to address the CCP on subjects relating to CCP business and not otherwise on the agenda. Speakers will be limited to 3 minutes (subject to change).

Lupita T. addressed the Board during public comment and Member Raven responded to her inquiry regarding demographics and data regarding race and social justice.

5) Member Announcements

Member Raven thanked the Board for voting to approve the funding for the Mental Health Diversion Program and said work has already begun. Member Oneto announced that the Probation Department will have its first community meeting for public input on the status of the Juvenile Detention Facility and potential alternate usage.

6) **CCP Action Item:** Receive presentation on CCP budget policies, provide feedback, and consider actions as needed (Will) (Attachment B)

Lupita T. addressed the Board on this item.

Eric Will, CCP Analyst, gave presentation on the budget policies that have been discussed over the last several months and mentioned that the discussion for these budget policies is part of the discussion of moving the CCP forward and the framework that would be eventually adopted into the CCP's bylaws. In regards to the statement on the bottom of Attachment B regarding the inclusion of the County Alcohol and Drug Administrator in terms of voting, Eric clarified that that at this time there is no staff recommendation to change any voting structure of the CCP through the Executive Committee or through the full CCP membership.

Minute Order No. 21-20: Directed staff to edit last statement on page one of Attachment B to indicate that other subject matter experts may be brought in to advise on treatment and innovation fund request or proposals to enhance the process and ensure alignment with existing county and CCP practices. Roll call of the CCP Executive Committee was taken.

MOVED BY: Miller / SECONDED BY: Johnson AYES: Johnson, Larsen, Miller, Oneto, Raven, Vega. NOES: None. ABSTAIN: Olson. ABSENT: None.

Minute Order No. 21-21: Formed an Ad Hoc Committee to discuss and review the outcomes and data collection and come up with the standardized form and metrics. Roll call of the CCP Executive Committee was taken.

MOVED BY: Miller / SECONDED BY: Olson AYES: Johnson, Larsen, Miller, Olson, Oneto, Raven, Vega. NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: None.

Minute Order No. 21-22: Approved Special meetings on Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 2:00 p.m. and Monday, August 9, 2021 at 1:30 p.m.

MOVED BY: Larsen / SECONDED BY: Olson AYES: Evans, Johnson, Larsen, Miller, Olson, Oneto, Raven, Saylor, Vega. NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None. ABSENT: Nigel, Lewis, Valdes. 7) Adjournment (Oneto)

Next Meeting: Special CCP Meeting Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 2:00 p.m.

Minutes prepared by: Lupita Ramirez, Deputy Clerk, Board of Supervisors