

Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission 625 Court Street, Suite 107, Woodland, CA 95695 530.666.8048 (office) 530.662.7383 (fax) lafco@yolocounty.org (email) www.yololafco.org (web)

То:	Olin Woods, Chair, and Members of the Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission
From:	Elizabeth Castro Kemper, Executive Officer
Date:	October 27, 2008
Subject:	Receive the draft City of West Sacramento Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence Study (LAFCO № S-031)

RECOMMENDED ACTION

Receive the draft City of West Sacramento Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence Study which has been distributed to the City, affected agencies and interested parties.

FISCAL IMPACT

The Commission has budgeted funds in the professional services account of the 2008-09 budget for this project.

REASON FOR RECOMMENDED ACTION

The receipt of the draft document by the Commission signals a formal public review period prior to the public hearing on December 8, 2008 for formal review of the studies and consideration of the recommendations for the sphere of influence boundaries.

BACKGROUND

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Act (CKH) requires the revision of the Spheres of Influence for the 54 special districts and 4 cities in Yolo County. Sphere of Influence revisions require municipal service reviews. The first public hearing for the West Sacramento sphere of influence study is projected for the December 8, 2008 Yolo LAFCO hearing date. The proposed date should allow sufficient time for city, public and initial environmental review. The current staff recommendation is to maintain the sphere of influence boundary coterminous with the city limits.

ATTACHMENT: Draft City of West Sacramento Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence

Commissioners * Public Member Olin Woods, Chair * * County Member Matt Rexroad, Vice Chair * * City Members Tom McMasters-Stone, Stephen Souza * County Member Helen M. Thomson * ALTERNATE COMMISSIONERS * Public Member Robert Ramming * City Member Skip Davies * County Member Mariko Yamada * STAFF * Executive Officer Elizabeth Castro Kemper * Senior Management Analyst Elisa Carvalho * * Commission Clerk Terri Tuck * Commission Counsel Robyn Drivon *