YOLO COUNTY LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

MINUTES

May 11, 2009

The Yolo County Local Agency Formation Commission met on the 11th day of May, 2009, starting at 9:03 a.m., in the Yolo County Board of Supervisors Chambers, 625 Court Street, Room 206, Woodland, CA. Members present were: Chair and Public Member Olin Woods, County Member Matt Rexroad and City Member Stephen Souza. Others present were: Alternate Public Member Robert Ramming, Executive Officer Elizabeth Castro Kemper, Senior Management Analyst Elisa Carvalho, Commission Clerk Terri Tuck and Commission Counsel Robyn Truitt Drivon.

<u>Item № 1</u> <u>Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance and Roll Call</u>

Chair Woods called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m.

Chair Woods asked Commission Counsel Robyn Truitt Drivon to lead the Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call: PRESENT: Rexroad, Souza, Woods ABSENT: McMasters-Stone, Thomson

Item № 2 Public Input

Chair Woods invited members of the public to address the Commission on any item relating to the Local Agency Formation Commission but not on the agenda. No one came forward.

CONSENT AGENDA

<u>Item № 3</u> Approved the Minutes of February 23, 2009 Meeting

Minute Order 2009-12: The Commission approved the minutes of February 23, 2009.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Rexroad SECOND: Souza AYES: Rexroad, Souza, Woods NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: McMasters-Stone, Thomson

REGULAR AGENDA

Item № 4 Approved Election of Chairman and Vice Chairman for 2009/10

Minute Order 2009-13: The Commission reelected Public Member Olin Woods

as Chair and County Member Matt Rexroad as Vice Chair for the 2009/10 term.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Souza SECOND: Rexroad AYES: Rexroad, Souza, Woods

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: McMasters-Stone, Thomson

<u>Item № 5</u> <u>Received Western Yolo Park and Recreation Summary Review</u>

After a report by staff and discussion by the Commission the public was invited to speak. Public comments were made by Claire Haag, Chair of the Western Yolo Recreation Center Association (WYORCA), Capay Valley Vision Executive Director Sue Heitman and Yolo County Parks and Resources Director Warren Westrup.

Minute Order 2009-14: A motion was made to receive a summary review on possible options for provision of park and recreation services to western Yolo County.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Rexroad SECOND: Souza AYES: Rexroad, Souza, Woods NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: McMasters-Stone, Thomson

PUBLIC HEARING

<u>Item № 6</u> <u>Held the Public Hearing and approved the final 2009/10 Budget for the Yolo County LAFCO</u>

After a report by staff and discussion by the Commission the Chair opened the public hearing. No one came forward.

Minute Order 2009-15: The final budget for fiscal year 2009/10 was approved.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Rexroad SECOND: Souza AYES: Rexroad, Souza, Woods NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: McMasters-Stone, Thomson

CALAFCO

Received update from staff on the 2009 CALAFCO Staff Workshop held April 29-May 1, 2009 and was hosted by the San Luis Obispo LAFCO.

Executive Officers Report

<u>Item № 8a</u> Received consolidation status of Reclamation Districts 537, 811 and 900

The Commission received an updated report on the possible consolidation of

Reclamation Districts 537, 811 and 900, all of which are located in West Sacramento.

<u>Item № 8b</u> <u>Consider as appropriate</u>

A verbal report by the Executive Officer was given on pending, proposed and environmental review projects and sphere of influence documents in the LAFCO process.

The Executive Officer asked that the meeting be adjourned in memory of former Yolo LAFCO Executive Officer Lawrence L. Clayton, Jr.

<u>Item № 9 Commissioners Report</u>

There were no reports.

Item № 10 Adjournment

Minute Order 2009-16: A motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 9:44 a.m. in memory of Lawrence L. Clayton, Jr.

Approved by the following vote:

MOTION: Rexroad SECOND: Souza AYES: Rexroad, Souza, Woods NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: McMasters-Stone, Thomson

Olin Woods, Chair Local Agency Formation Commission County of Yolo, State of California

Terri Tuck Commission Clerk